top of page
  • Ladyreading365

My Daughter's Boyfriend by Daniel Hurst (Bookouture) 3 stars

Publication date UK 3/6/23 audio time 6 hrs 41 m, book 249 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


My daughter thought she had found the man of her dreams. But now her life is in danger…


When Ellie tells me she has a new boyfriend, I am absolutely thrilled and can’t wait to meet him. She finally seems so happy and in love.


But there’s a catch. Ellie has never met him in person. In fact, he doesn’t even live in the same country. Our home is in England, but Daryl is in Los Angeles.


When handsome Daryl invites Ellie to stay with him at his luxury Los Angeles mansion for a few weeks, I insist on joining her. I need to find out more about the man who has my daughter so enamoured.


Daryl welcomes us into his whitewashed house, complete with a stunning swimming pool and sun-drenched patio. Then one morning, I discover a terrible secret in his basement that changes everything. He has been lying to us from the start.


I go to confront him, but Ellie and Daryl are nowhere to be found. I call Ellie’s phone but there’s no answer.


Has something happened to my precious girl? And will I be able to save her?


An utterly gripping psychological thriller that will keep you up all night from the author of the number one bestselling novel The Doctor’s Wife . If you love Gone Girl , The Night She Disappeared and The Perfect Couple , you’ll be hooked by My Daughter’s Boyfriend .


My Review


This was a great story. As always, the author has created yet another well written tale. It had interesting, well developed characters. It was easy to get into and had the authors tell tale, shocking twist at the end. I listened to the audiobook and did like the narrator. I enjoyed reading this book. However, there were two issues for me . Firstly, this story was too predictable. Secondly, the twist was more like an oh right. Not the usual NO WAY or WOW ! Like I am used to by this author. I am still glad I read this book as it was interesting. It is just not his best book. I definitely look forward to reading more from this author.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for creating an enjoyable story.


Where you can buy this book


AMAZON US K UNLIMITED OR $1.22, AUDIBLE, PB $10.01



Amazon UK K UNLIMITED OR £0.99, AUDIBLE, PB £7.90



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page