top of page
  • Ladyreading365

A History Of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts by Julie Cook (Pen & Sword) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 30/10/22 book 224 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


A History of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts: Brownies, Rainbows and WAGGGS charts the evolution of the Girl Guides and Girl Scouts from its early days as a movement started before WW1 right through to the modern day. With real life interviews with Girl Guides and Girl Scouts from their 90s down to young children, this book looks at what being a Girl Guide has meant through the ages up to the present day. With dramatic and often emotional stories of what it was like to be an evacuated Brownie in the Second World War, a disabled Girl Guide and with tales of girls' heroism throughout the two great wars both in the UK and the United States, this book extols the Guiding and Scouting movement as one that has evolved with women and girls' rights and its hopes for the future.


My Review


This was a fantastic book. I loved every minute of this book that I had to read it all in one sitting. Although I was never in the guides or brownies I wish I was. But I did send my daughter there. So I just had to read this book when I found it. And I wasn't disappointed. It explains the whole history so well and was amazingly wrote that it was a fascinating story. I learnt so much from reading it and reading the values made me so happy and proud of the job they still do for our girls. It was amazing reading about the evolution of the group as I experienced my daughter going through the new badging system to modernise it some more. I couldn't believe how much they did during the second World War. Its so true what they say that girls who go through the ranks come out as well rounded young ladies. Especially having respect for those around them. They definitely learnt wonderful values as it shows through in the book. This book flowed easily and was a wonderful heartwarming read. I really can't recommend this book enough. If you have ever been or want your girls to become brownies or girl scouts you will love read this book. Especially seen as though it contains first hand accounts of those that have been throughout the years.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for bringing us this fascinating history book that contains everything you could ever want to know about girl scouts.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US HC $34.95 OUT JAN 2023



Waterstones HC £20.00



B&N HC $34.95



Amazon UK HC £19.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page