top of page
  • Ladyreading365

A Year At The French Farmhouse by Gillian Harvey (Boldwood Books) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 29/9/22 book 374 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Escape to France with this warm, witty romantic read. After ten years of loyal service Lily Butterworth has been made redundant. Like any clever woman, she knows the cure to redundancy is a little too much wine and her best friend. Only the next morning, Lily has more than a hangover . . . she has a whole new house – in France! Seeing this as an opportunity instead of a disaster, she’s excited about finally moving to France, just as she and her husband always dreamed of. However, Lily is in for another surprise. Despite planning to move there for over 20 years, her husband never actually intended to go. So begins a year in France, alone, renovating the gorgeous old farmhouse that is held together by wallpaper and wishes. Will a year at the French farmhouse be just what Lily needs? Or could it be the previous owner, Frederique, that is the answer to Lily’s dreams? My Review Wow this was one fantastic read. I just loved every second of this book that I had to read it all in one sitting. It is one of those books that feels so real. That traps you in a wonderfully wrote spell and makes you feel so happy and relaxed that you forget your even reading a fiction book. The characters are just wonderful, relatable and so lovable. I definitely became emotionally invested in their progress and development. This book is just amazing. I found myself smiling even after the book I had finished. This book will stay with me for some time. I loved how the book was so full of French culture. There was also a great sense of community in the small village with everyone being so inclusive. I especially loved the part with the chicken gift. I found the story to be so heartwarming and funny. I really can't recommend this book enough. If you love a great story set in rural France about moving to a new country and renovating an old farm house then this book is definitely for you. I especially loved the fact that this book contained a nice light romance story which made it feel do very well rounded. I might of predicted a small part of the story but it just made me smile all the more. Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such an amazing book that you could definitely become lost in and taken on a wonderful fun journey. I will definitely be looking out for more books by this talented author.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K UNLIMITED OR $2.99 PB $16.99



Waterstones PB £10.99



Google Books ebook £1.99



B&N PB $17.99 EBOOK $2.99



Kobo ebook £1.99



Amazon UK K UNLIMITED OR £1.89, AUDIBLE, PB £10.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page