top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Aircraft Carriers by David Ross (Amber Books) 4 Stars

Publication date UK format 2/6/22 book 224 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.





Synopsis

Aircraft Carriers features 52 of the most significant flat tops and amphibious assault ships built since the 1920s.


During World War II, the aircraft carrier finally came into its own. Fleet carriers carrying 30–40 aircraft allowed the Japanese and US navies to project air power across the vast Pacific Ocean, with the Japanese raid on Pearl Harbor presaging a new kind of warfare. With the sinking of hundreds of ships during World War II, including the German battleship Bismarck in 1941, by the end of the war carriers ruled the waves and the era of the battleship had passed. Aircraft Carriers features flat tops and assault ships from the last 100 years, from the USS Yorktown, which survived direct hits during the battle of Midway (1942), through the Falklands War veteran HMS Invincible, to the mighty Nimitz class, the core of the US Navy's carrier battle groups today. Also included are significant amphibious assault ships, such as the USS Tarawa and French Mistral. Each entry includes a brief description of the ship's development and history, a color profile view or cutaway, key features, and specifications.


My Review


This was a brilliant book. I really enjoyed reading it . I must admit this straight away I know nothing about them other than they fascinate me. This book was perfect fit for me as I learnt so much from reading it and I just loved the multi view aspects of the diagrams.

The book was set out brilliantly in chronological order with there little country flags. Plenty of useful information that was well explained. However, it could of used a glossary but I just googled new words to me. As mentioned before labeled diagrams of there important features. Then a great photograph of it in action.

I definitely recommend this book to all submarine fans or people like me who love to learn about new things.

My favourite diagrams where the view from the front as it just gives that extra dimension to enjoy.

I will definitely be looking out for more books by this author and publishers.

I would like to thank them all for creating this really fascinating and very informative book which I thoroughly enjoyed immersing myself in. Its a great page turner!


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US HC $29.99



Waterstones HC £19.99



B&N HC $29.99



Amazon UK HC£16.89



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page