top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Boys of Gold by George Brinley Evans (Parthian) 4 stars

Publication date UK format 1/9/22 book 120 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Examining the relationships between families, coal-mining colleagues, and soldiers at war, this collection of seven short essays features several tales set against the partly-autobiographical backdrop of the author's life as a coal miner in the Neath Valley and as a soldier in Burma during World War Two. Also included is an essay on writer B. L. Coombes.


My Review


This was a great quick read as it has 120 pages. The author tells part real life part fiction stories of what lads from the Welsh coal mines did. Also how hard it was living in the area. There choices were mine or become a soldier. These stories were very well wrote and I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. I just wish the book was longer as I was enjoying them that much. It was a very interesting read and the author really brought out a great sense of atmosphere and tension. I also felt many different emotions while reading this book. I definitely recommend this book if you love learning about what life was like in small Welsh towns. Also if you a fan of literary fiction or cultural books. Or like me love reading anything Welsh.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for bringing us these fantastic stories to enjoy.



Where you can buy this book


Amazon US PB $11.65



Waterstones  PB £8.99



B&N PB $13.99



Amazon UK PB £7.56



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page