top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Coffin Honey by Todd Davis (Michigan State Univercity Press) 4 Stars

Publication date UK format 1/2/22 book 147 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


In Coffin Honey, his seventh book of poems, celebrated poet Todd Davis explores the many forms of violence we do to each other and to the other living beings with whom we share the planet. Here racism, climate collapse, and pandemic, as well as the very real threat of extinction—both personal and across ecosystems—are dramatized in intimate portraits of Rust-Belt Appalachia: a young boy who has been sexually assaulted struggles with dreams of revenge and the possible solace that nature might provide; a girl whose boyfriend has enlisted in the military faces pregnancy alone; and a bear named Ursus navigates the fecundity of the forest after his own mother’s death, literally crashing into the encroaching human world. Each poem in Coffin Honey seeks to illuminate beauty and suffering, the harrowing precipice we find ourselves walking nearer to in the twenty-first century. As with his past prize-winning volumes, Davis, whose work Orion Magazine likens to that of Wendell Berry and Mary Oliver, names the world with love and care, demonstrating what one reviewer describes as his knowledge of “Latin names, common names, habitats, and habits . . . steeped in the exactness of the earth and the science that unfolds in wildness.”


My Review


This was a fantastic collection of poetry. It wasn't my usual type of poetry that I go for. However, I could really feel the passion of the authors words. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this collection of poetry. I really do love poetry that evoke emotional responses while I read it and this one did just that. I just loved how the poems where targeted at different type of emotions throughout. I was actually disappointed that it ended I was that engrossed in reading it and enjoying it that much. I really appreciate the authors style of writing and enjoyed the variance of lengths to the poems. I recommend this book to all those who love emotion provoked poems. I loved the poems that were so shocking that it sure was unexpected and I sure felt the punch it provides. As poetry is always very personal to each and every reader, please to try a same of this authors poetry as im sure you will thoroughly enjoy it .

So much praise goes to the author and publishers for producing this extremely thought provoking collection of poetry.


Where you can buy this book

Amazon US K $18.59 PB $19.95

Waterstones PB £16.50

B&N PB $19.95 N $14.99

Amazon UK K £14.88 PB £14.52

All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page