top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Diary Of A Student Nurse by Suz Evasdaughter (Ad Lib Publishing) 3.5 Stars

Publication date UK format 12/8/22 book 257 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


A touching account of the life and death situations, friendships and affairs of the heart of a student nurse in 1970s Britain. Suz Evasdaughter’s engaging style conjures a vivid picture of the hospital dramas, the procedures, the professional barriers and the camaraderie that became her world. From her first encounter with the dead, to the joy of seeing new life. From cancer wards and unexpected loss to canteen laughs and much-needed moral support. Suz’s personal experience captures both an era and a wonderful profession – warts and all. “I was allowed the privilege of being with people at their most vulnerable and painful moments and, I hope, brought them comfort. It was a great honour to be with people in their last moments. People who knew they were dying trusted me with their worst fears and their lost hopes. “Nursing taught me compassion and provided a strong foundation for life. It brought me stability, a community, a base from which to find my way and an invaluable skill set.”


My Review


This was a very good book. The title just says it all. This is an autobiography of not just the struggles of becoming a nurse in the 70's but also her life outside of the hospital. Including relationships and studying of her o levels. It must also be noted that English was not her first language so she had the added stress of learning a new language. I found this book very interesting. It was so close to getting that 4th star. I have given it a 3.5 stars. For me I would of love at bit more descriptions of her learning and job and a little less romance. But the issues you deal with outside of your job could always affect your work etc. The author writes so well and it flowed well. I was engaged in the story and finished it in just over a day. I recommend this book to all those who love reading about what life is like trying to become a nurse. Suz has leas a very interesting life.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for bringing such an interesting book.


Where you can buy this book


Waterstones PB £8.99



Amazon UK K UNLIMITED OR 3.99 PB £9.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page