top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Ellis River by Nicki Ehlich (IBPA)(Independent Author) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 15/9/22 book 241 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


The Civil War scattered her family and now, along with her beloved horse, a young woman must travel across a war-torn country to collect what's left of her life. For fifteen-year-old Ellis Cady, life has gone quiet on her western Tennessee homestead. Her father and older brother left to sell horses to the army two years earlier and never returned. She watched her mother's health decline, finally succumbing to a broken heart. Her twin brother left in search of their father, and while he was gone neighbors moved out of their Quaker community, searching for peace ahead of the final sweep of war. Ellis is left with nothing but the company of the remaining horses and the letters and journals she continues to write, trying to make sense of a desolate world. A small band of soldiers rides through to claim the last of the herd, and hope for the return of life as she knew it, evaporates like the mist on the river. When the head-strong mare, Billie, returns, having escaped from the soldiers, Ellis takes it as a sign to leave. Disguised as a boy, for safety and comfort, she rides off to find her twin. Though war refuses to fade, Ellis stumbles upon an unlikely group of rescuers who teach her family is more than blood, and love has no limits. My Review This was such a wonderful and heartbreaking novel. I believe this was a debut novel. I loved it from the very start and became engrossed where I lost track of all time and finished it in one sitting it was that good. It was definitely a late night which was definitely worth it. It was so wonderfully wrote and this story will stay with me for some time to come. This story is a thrilling and exciting read but, also heartbreaking. I was emotionally invested in this novel. This book had plenty of unexpected events and I just couldn't predict any of it. There were some great edge of your seat moments and a really good roller coaster ride. The characters were wonderful and realistic and developed really well especially this books female protagonist. The book had amazing atmosphere and tension that I felt like I was in the Story. In fact I forgot I was reading. It would make a great movie. I recommend this book if you love going on an emotional journey.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishing team for creating such a wonderful page turning story that had me frantically turning the pages to find out what was going to happen next. I really can't wait for the next exciting instalment.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $4.90, PB $15.99



B&N PB $15.99, E$4.99



Kobo E £4.99



Amazon UK K £4.27, PB £13.91



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page