top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Fakes, Scams And Forgeries by Brian Innes & Chris McNab (Amber Books) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 14/9/22 book 256 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


An illustrated history of criminal fakes and deceptions, and how they were uncovered. For as long as historical annals have been kept, they have recorded the frauds and fakes that have been imposed upon innocent dupes. Fakes, Scams and Forgeries details many of the most notorious acts of forgery, fraud and fakery that have taken place over the centuries, describing how they were perpetrated, how those who considered themselves experts were led astray and fooled, and how—often after many years—they were detected. As well as providing entertaining and in-depth profiles of famous forgers and legendary frauds, the text deals with the many modern scientific techniques that have been developed for the examination of suspect materials.


My Review


This was a very interesting book. It had me so engrossed that I read it all in one sitting. If you thought you knew a lit about Scams and forgeries like me you will be very wrong and rather shocked at some of these. This book really didn't leave no stone unturned. It covered so many different types of forgery that I learnt so much from reading it which is something I really love. It was great that it told the stories of the individuals who were committing this crimes. I was so fascinating and shocked reading this book it was definitely a page turner that kept my interest until the very end. I especially loved the story about the lady who lived her whole extravagant life from other friends money.

The book is split into chapters looking at each type of fraud. It was interesting learning about the history of fake money and the development of security features to combat this. The book was very well wrote and flowed so well. The layout was a great mix of pictures and text which gave that extra dimension to the reading experience. I can't recommend this book enough. If you love true crime books or want to learn more about this dark side fraud then you should definitely read this book. I'm sure you will love it just as much as I did. I bet this author could write a book about each type of fraud. I actually wish he would now as this book was so well researched and so very interesting.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such a fascinating read that I just couldn't put down. I will definitely be looking out for more great books from this author.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US HC $29.99



Waterstones HC £19.99



B&N HC $29.99



Amazon UK HC £19.54


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page