top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Finally, I Am CEO by Michael Earle (Matador) 3 stars

Publication date UK format 28/4/22 book 344 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Michael Earle's story is full of exploration and adventure from beginning to end. He witnessed the aftermath of the fall of communism in Eastern Europe and felt the threat of nuclear war between Pakistan and India; in the Sahara Desert he crossed a minefield in the war zone between Libya and Chad, and he was attacked by gigantic hornets in the spectacular mountains of Papua New Guinea - all in the line of duty. Extensive international travel came with the territory, and the narrative contains interesting portraits of many countries, and insights into the pros and cons of expatriate life. Finally, I am CEO recounts the hard lessons learned at each stage of a tortuous path through corporate life, and how passion for work and the need to support a family strained marriages and determined career choices.


My Review


This was an interesting read. I really enjoyed the first half of this book. Which covered the authors early education and first jobs as a geologist. I was engrossed in this section as I could relate with the authors studies as I started studying Geology then switched to geography. It was great learning about all the interviews and first job with BP. He has certainly lived an interesting life. I loved learning about how he was moving countries and how they would find the oil and gas. It is definitely an ever changing career. There is also plenty of dramas. After half way it started to get more business related and my interest dropped off. I'm still glad I read this book as I learnt some great things it seems that this book would be better suited to the more business minded. It was well wrote and flowed great. I think this book would be a brilliant fit if your thinking of getting into the business or if you have an interest in building up a business.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for sharing and interesting journey through the minefield of gas and oil business . I'm sure many will find this book very interesting.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US PB$12.86



Waterstones PB £12.99



B&N PB $19.99



Amazon UK PB £8.25



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page