top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Finding Hildasay by Christian Lewis (Pan Macmillian) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 2/2/23 book 352 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


On 1 August 2017, former paratrooper Christian Lewis set off from Swansea to walk the entire coastline of the UK. Christian’s search for self-discovery, and to raise awareness and funds for the veterans charity SSAFA, would become a journey beyond his or anyone’s expectations. From raising over a quarter of a million pounds to adopting a dog called Jet to finding love with fellow adventurer, Kate, he had no idea that when he started this once-in-a-life-time experience he would be crossing the finish line (some five-and-a-half years later) with a fiancee, a baby and renewed sense of purpose. His story is one of survival and hope, but it’s also proof that, with the right mindset, anything is possible. Finding Hildasay is Christian’s first book about his journey, which has already received worldwide attention, a BAFTA-nominated documentary and more.


My Review


This was a wonderful book of self-discovery. The author's life before this journey was rather shocking I really felt for him. This book will certainly take you on a roller coaster story with lots of ups and downs. I loved how he even walked around the islands in Scotland. His whole journey was done without any money. He even walked around Northern Ireland. It was beautiful reading just how humble the author was. It made for interesting reading and learning how he was treated by people. It really gave me faith in humanity. It was a very emotional read. I loved learning about all those who helped the author on his journey. It was such an amazing journey that I couldn't put it down. I just had to read this book in one sitting so I had to stay up very late to finish it but it was certainly worth it. I loved reading about the interactions with jet it really put a smile on my face. I could feel the bond through the author's words. I couldn't believe how long it took to walk around the UK coastline. I really didn't want this book to end. When he finished I felt like shouting I think you need to walk around another country just so I could read it all again. I really can't recommend this book enough it is a must-read for all those who love beautifully written stories.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for bringing us this fantastic book. I only hope this author decides to travel again so I can read more.

Where you can buy this book


Waterstones hc £14.99



Google Books EB £8.99



Kobo EB £8.99 AUDIO £12.99



Amazon UK K £8.99, AUDIBLE, HC £9.00



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page