top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Flower Crowns & Fearsome things by Amanda Lovelace (Andrews McMeel Audio) 3 Stars

Publication date 5/10/21 Audio length 39 mins Book 176 pages


If you are doing my reading challenge starting Jan 2022 this book will fit into the following prompts #1 #20 #22 #33.




Synopsis


In her new standalone poetry collection, flower crowns & fearsome things, bestselling & award-winning poetess Amanda Lovelace explores the complexity of femininity through alternating wildflower & wildfire poems. within these pages, you will find that each of us has the ability to be both soft & fierce at the same time. there is no need to choose one or the other


My Review


This was a good poetry book looking into femininity and the soft and fiercest of it. I listened to the audiobook and was surprised by how short it was at only 39 mins. I really liked that she followed a theme and based it around the Goddess Persephone (springtime and the underworld). There were also elements of the struggles the author faced during the covid 19 pandemic. She speaks such truth its enlightening. I liked that she explained the meanings behind the poems. However, I struggled to find the ending of the poem and the beginning of her notes. The author narrated her own work which I often like but in this case she sounded very nervous and it made me fill nervous listening to it. When listening to this book I did feel an element of self help which is a main focus of this collection. As a women it made me feel understood or slightly empowered. I have always loved poetry that insights feelings of emotion. I just wanted more poetry maybe at least an hours worth and a better distinction between poetry and notes. As poetry is so personal it might me slightly lacking for me but perfect for you. Always try a sample before declining poetry. Thanks to the author and publishers for bring more poetry for us all to enjoy.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle $8.49 Paperback $10.54


Waterstones Paperback £9.99


Google Books ebook £7.99


Barnes and Noble Paperback $13.49 Nook $8.49


Kobo ebook £5.79


Amazon UK Kindle £7.78 Available on Audible Paperback £8.19


All prices are subject to change at any time.


Happy reading

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page