top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Frank Lee After Alcatraz by David Hasteda (Titan Comics) 4 Stars

Publication date UK format 12/7/22 book 128 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


A noted bank robber, Frank Lee Morris also had an above average IQ and was known to be an escape artist, a talent that was mentioned in his admissions file at the federal penitentiary on Alcatraz Island. His most incredible feat is having escaped from the highest-security prison in the United States on June 11th, 1962. Lee and his two accomplices were presumed to have drowned in the San Francisco Bay, but their bodies were never found. Lee’s FBI case file remains open to this day. What if he made it across the bay? The authors imagine his life after his flight from the inescapable prison.


My Review


This was a brilliant graphic novel. I just had to read it all in one sitting as it was so good. It was a really interesting story that I couldn't put down. It's quite the page turner. I found the story exciting and quite shocking in places. Talk about edge of your seat. The Story was very well wrote and the pictures were brilliant. They were in great detail with a fantastic use of colour to create tension.

I am so glad I found this novel because it was a brilliant way to learn some history. I knew about someone surving escaping alcatraz but I didn't know the story and was so engrossed in the amazing story of Frank Lee. If you love interesting graphic novels then this is for you. Plus it's a great way to learn history. It's definitely an 18 + novel.

What I loved the most is how the emotions were brought out in the pictures these created such a wonderful sense of atmosphere and tension throughout. It was definitely an exciting story. I will definitely be looking out for more titles by this talented author and illustrator.

I thought it was great that it had a shory history and story about alcatraz at the end.

Many thanks to the author, illustrator and publishing team for bringing this amazing story to life through a fantastic medium.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US k $24.11 hc $24.99



Waterstone hc £21.99



Google Books ebook £20.65



B&N HC $24.99 N $18.99



Amazon UK K £20.09, HC £21.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING



1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page