top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Going It Alone by Tim Hauserman (University of Nevada Press) 3.5 Stars

Publication date UK format 2/8/22 book 168 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Join author Tim Hauserman on his solo journeys through the Sierra Nevada and the forests of Minnesota. Hauserman shares his experiences hiking by himself through some of the most spectacular landscapes in the United States. Along the way, he confronts his conflicting desires to be alone in the wilderness, then facing profound loneliness and fear once he is there. In a single instant, he goes from enjoying a shimmering mountain lake to being petrified by the sound of a bear crunching through sticks right next to his tent. Hauserman hikes the John Muir Trail through rainstorms and challenging climbs, explores the Tahoe Rim Trail on a fourteen-day excursion, and travels to Minnesota to conquer the Superior Hiking Trail, where he is inundated with bugs, faces drought, and is eerily alone on the trail with not a single other hiker in sight for days. Going It Alone combines his self-deprecating humor, what he identifies as “Stupid Tim Tricks,” and delightful descriptions of the natural surroundings. Some might describe the wilderness as the middle of nowhere or as nothingness, but for Hauserman, it is everything. While his love for nature remains undaunted through these experiences, he also discovers that he has overly high expectations for his capabilities and that he cannot just wish his loneliness away. He eventually discovers that his long walks in the woods are less about hiking and more about learning how he wants to live his life.


My Review


This was a great read. I actually rated it 3.5 but rounded it up as it is better than a 3 star book. I enjoyed the way this book covered a number of walks across America. I really liked the authors style of writing both relaxed and humorous. I thought it fun how the walks started as a family thing but quickly changed to lone adventures. It describes some wonderful places. For me I would of loved a little more descriptions of the land, trees, nature etc. I would of loved to learn more from this book. It would of helped me visual the areas more. Saying that I am still glad I found this book. It really relaxed me and I thoroughly enjoy the walk that was done further away from home that ended up getting cut short. I won't give anymore than that as I don't want to spoil the story. I also loved the cover and the photographs this book contains. It certainly added that extra dimension to the book.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for bringing us this great book to travel around unfamiliar places from the comfort of our armchair. I will be looking out for more books by this author.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $17.82, PB $19.95



Waterstones PB £22.95



Google Books ebook £14.75



B&N PB $19.95 N $14.99



Kobo ebook £10.69



Amazon UK K £14.75 PB £15.12



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page