top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Her secret war by Pam Leaky (Harper Collins Avon) 5 Stars

Publication date 14/10/21 Audio time 11hrs 25 min Book 376 Pages


I loved the cover of this book and enjoy historical fiction books so it was a no brainer for me to request this title. I didn't read the synopsis of this book because my gut told me it would be good and you probably realised already from the 5 stars that I loved it. I just I thought I would remind my lovely readers that on Netgalley we the reviewer get to choose what books we want to read for review and I am never going to give a book more stars than I feel it deserves to keep publishers happy. I rate books on how I personally feel about the book and tell you kind readers what I believe you want to know.

I would like to thank Netgalley and the Publishers for allowing me to read and review this book for all my wonderful readers out there. If you will be following my reading challenge for next year on here or on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/891147431819516/?ref=share . This book will fit in the following prompt numbers #9,#20,#23 , #40,#43,




Synopsis


A moment that ruins her life


On 31st May 1941, Germany drops bombs on neutral Dublin and Sarah Gillespie loses her family and home that fateful night. Days later, the man she loves leaves Ireland to enlist in the RAF.


A decision that changes her life


With nothing to keep her in Ireland and a burning desire to help the war effort, Sarah seeks refuge with relatives in Hampshire, England. But before long, Sarah’s family history catches up with her.


A mission that could cost her life


Sarah is asked to prove her loyalty to Britain through uncovering a spy at Vickers Supermarine, the manufacturers of the legendary Spitfire fighter plane. But to progress with her mission, she must become involved with a fifth columnist. And so the most dangerous game she’s ever played ensues…


A gripping story that explores a deadly tangle of love and espionage in war-torn Britain, perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff, Kate Quinn and Kate Furnivall.



My Review


This book was absolutely amazing, I loved every minute of it. I just couldn't put the book down. I connected with the characters straight away while I listened to the audio version of this book. I was enchanted by the narrator straight away with her most expressive voice that just added to my love of the book and created so much life, warmth and atmosphere to the story. The depth of the characters made it so much easier to love or hate each one and created such emotions within provoking a reaction from the reader. This cleverly wrote novel had me on the edge of my seat from the very beginning especially because of all the action from the outset. The uniqueness of the story line had me intrigued. I wasn't expecting the major twists of this book and found myself shouting out loud, followed by my jaw hitting the group and this all occurred while I was sat on the bus whoops. I was so engrossed I very nearly missed my stop, even though I was starring out the window. I had to binge read this book, I had to find out what would happen next, note: expect a late night and an early rise to finish this book. I finished the book in just over a day.

The ending of this book that I will not disclose, but can say it's WOW!!! jaw droppingly excellent in every way.

I would like to thank the author and publishing team for creating the most amazing war tale with an excellent sense of atmosphere, tension, mystery making me feel so content.

This is definitely an author to put on your one to watch list. I can not wait to read more of her novels.

I highly recommend this book and author for all those lovers of war historical fiction books that you just fall in love with from the get go. Happy reading. :)


Where you can get this book from


Amazon US Kindle $6.99 Paperback $16.99




Waterstones Paperback £8.99




Google Books E book £0.99




Barnes & Noble Paperback $16.99 Nook $6.99




Kobo E book £0.99




Amazon UK Paperback £8.99 Kindle £0.99 Also available on audible




All prices may change at any time. The links are here to help you. Happy reading :)






3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page