top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Iced by Felix Francis (Crooked Lane Books) 5 Stars

Publication date UK format 12/7/22 book 384 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


In the tradition of Clive Cussler and James Lee Burke, Iced, the latest in Francis’s fictional world, is a heart-pounding thriller that will keep you racing to the next page.


Seven years ago, Miles Pussett was a steeplechase jockey, loving the rush of the race. But after an unfortunate event, he left horseracing behind and swore he would never return. Now he gets his adrenaline rush from riding headfirst down the Cresta Run, a three-quarter-mile Swiss ice chute, reaching speeds of up to eighty miles per hour.


Finding himself in St Moritz during the same weekend as White Turf, when high-class horseracing takes place on the frozen lake, he gets talked into helping out with the horses. Against his better judgement, he decides to assist, but things aren’t as innocent as they seemed.


When he discovers something suspicious is going on in the races, something that may have a profound impact on his future, Miles begins a search for answers. But someone is adamant about stopping him—and they’ll go to any length to do it.



My Review


Wow this was certainly a book that I could not put down. The pages were flying at such a speed I had finger cramps but it was worth it. I have read many Dick Francis books in my life and loved them. I think this is the first Felix Francis I have read and it's on a whole different level. This book was absolutely perfect. Packed so full with exciting tension and atmosphere. The story-line was so thrilling, fresh, realistic, believable and exciting. I am not definitely going to have to binge read all of his books. This is a wonderful book for thriller fans, epic for those who love horses in there books. Epic for those who love horse racing fiction it really is a must read for racing fans like me. The writing style is just so wonderful and thrilling that I'm sure like me you will be engrossed in minutes. The pace of this book is so fantastic in places you could get whiplash. The characters are so easy to love or love to hate and so characters expected to be quite shocked about. This kept me on my toes. I really can't recommend this book enough.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such a perfect horse racing novel. That I became so involved with it played like a movie in my head. This book is totally in contention for my book of the year award.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page