top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Ignore It All And Hope It Goes Away by Nic Aubury (David Flick Books) 3.5 stars

Publication date UK format 6/10/22 book 192 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


This completely original collection is a funny and hilariously truthful look at all the irritations and uncertainties of modern life. A sort of completely unhelpful self-help poetry book, for those who can't bear self-help. Accessible, utterly relatable and easy to read, it is an exciting new pairing of comedic voices, with popular comic artist Moose Allain's illustrations enhancing the book brilliantly.


My Review


This was a great poetry book. I really enjoyed reading it. I liked the rhythm of the poems. I also loved the humour that was held within them. They really made me chuckle at times. Mostly I loved the poems especially the section on children and the poem about what day of the week the children were born on so modern and true lol. Some poems were a little harder to understand especially as there were words I had never come across before so I definitely needed my dictionary to hand. This somewhat spoiled a few of the poems for me. There was one in another language and seen as though I couldn't read it I didn't see the point of it being there.

I have to say how much I loved the simple pictures that accompanied each poem they were great and really brought the poems to life and gave the poems that extra dimension. If you love rhythmic poetry, learning new words, and trying different styles of poetry then this book is for you. I actually rated this book 3.5 stars rounded up as it was better than a 3 star rating but just a little off the 4 stars. As poetry is so very personal to each reader I always recommend trying a sample to see if this is a perfect fit for you.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for creating this enjoyable collection of poetry. It was a great reading experience.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US HC $15.55



Waterstones HC £15.55



Google Books EB £12.99



Kobo EB £9.99



Amazon UK K £10.44, HC £10.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page