top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Khao Phat For Lunch by Liz Chalmers (The Book Guild) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 28/7/22 book 201 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


After thinking she has the summer to organise a move across the globe, Liz receives a call from her husband, Mo, to say that everything has changed – he needs her to join him in Thailand as soon as possible.


The Pits, as the town is affectionately known to the tiny expat community, none of whom can ever pronounce its name correctly and where very little English is spoken.


Follow Liz through the initial shock to a jet lagged brain at the sheer volume of traffic, noise, and the hubbub of daily life. Trying to provide appetising meals whilst fully aware of the fate of the creature which is providing sustenance is a unique experience. The difficulties encountered with the Thai language, customs, and the subsequent embarrassing consequences. Cockroaches, weevils, geckos or chitchats become part of everyday life.


The most important thing to take with you besides your passport, is your sense of humour, because without it you will surely end up on the first flight home.


My Review


This was a fantastic book. I could tell from the very first page that I was going to love it. There was something in the authors writing style that made this so enjoyable. Even by the end I couldn't work out what it was that worked so well. Maybe it's her honesty or that I found it hilarious especially all the things that went wrong. It's probably that she is naturally funny without trying to. I was laughing so hard when she was practicing her new Thai saying without understanding tone was important. The reactions she got was so funny. She wrote this book so well that I was totally engrossed and lost track of time. I have read a lot travel writings recently and this is definitely the best so far. I loved learning about all the cultural differences. If you want a book full of funny mishaps and learn about Thai culture then this book is for you. I can't recommend it enough. My favourite part was the story about the missing khao phat? You really won't be disappointed reading this book. It was that good I would of give it a 6th star.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for bringing us this fantastic book about your 3 years in Thailand. It was so interesting and fun that I didn't want it to end. Now I'm having withdrawal symptoms.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $6.01, PB $13.19



Waterstones PB £9.99



Google Books ebook £4.99



B&N N $ 6.99



Kobo ebook £3.99



Amazon UK K £4.99, PB £9.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page