top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Kyoto Stories by Steve Alpert (Stone Bridge Press)(IBPA) 5 stars

Updated: Jul 20, 2022

Publication date UK format 5/7/22 book 320 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis

Don Ascher is a young American living in Kyoto in the 1970s. He is a student of Japanese. He also teaches English, works at a shabu-shabu restaurant, and hangs out in the company of gangsters, hostesses, housewives, tea teachers, and fellow foreigners. Set amidst the timeless beauty of the ancient capital and its garish modern entertainments, this collection of fanciful episodes from Don’s life is a window into Japanese culture and a chronicle of romance and human connections.


My Review


This was such an amazing book. I just loved every minute of it. I just love how interesting a book the author created it is classed as a fiction book but I am totally convinced that this is the authors memoir. If I'm wrong it read just like one. The stories were brilliant, very interesting and funny at the same time. I was totally engrossed in this book that I had to finish it in one day yep another late night for me. If you want to emurse your self in Japanese culture then this book is definitely for you. I learnt so much from reading this book . I can definitely say I have not had this much run reading a multicultural book in a long time. The author really made Don Asher come to life . I lived it so much. I really can't recommend this book enough. 

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for bringing us this magnificent collection of stories to emurse us in what sound like an amazing culture. I will definitely be looking out for more books by this amazing author and have everything crossed there is a part 2 for this book.



Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $9.94 PB $19.95



Waterstones PB £14.99



B&N PB $19.95 N $9.49



Kobo ebook £5.49



Amazon UK K £8.41 PB £14.09



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis.  Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.


HAPPY READING













10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page