top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Lenny by Laura McVeigh (Saga Egmont) 4 Stars

Publication date in UK format 18/3/22 audio time 9 hrs 10 mins, book 288p


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.


I just wanted to write a note saying when I read and reviewed this book I had no idea it was book wrote for a younger audience and for me I read perfectly well as a book adults will love. Hence my review is based on me believing it was an adult book which I loved.




Synopsis


If you could stretch time like elastic, what would you change? Ten-year old Lenny wants to save his home, Roseville, Louisiana, from the sinkhole that threatens to destroy it. His mother, Mari-Rose, unable to cope and dreaming of a better life, has abandoned him. His father, Jim, has returned from war suffering from PTSD. Lenny is homeless, sleeping rough in the bayou swampland, and his only true friends in the world are young Lucy Albert, the lonely town librarian, and long-retired schoolteacher Miss Julie Betterdine Valéry – who is still waiting on the return of her husband, Stanley, sent to war in Korea in 1952. Travelling between two storylines – the first taking place in 2011 in the Ubari Sand Sea in Libya, the second along the banks of False River, Louisiana, when the ripple effects of the Great Recession, pollution, environmental destruction and the rapidly rising waters are causing whole towns to empty out all along the Bayou, LENNY is a story about how we treat our planet and each other. It examines the nature of time and reality, conflict, family and love, and explores how hope and imagination can save us.


My Review


This was a wonderful book. I really loved the story line . It was fantastic following the story of a boy lenny who's family is just falling apart and becomes some what neglected. This story is loosely based upon the story the little prince. I thought the author did a brilliant job at developing lennys character. The development of the characters which really made this story stand out to me. It I'd a dual timeline story which helps in understand now the characters and story line develop into this wonderful book. I thoroughly enjoyed how the book crested that wonderful sense of community at the end. Just how they all stood together to fight against a community issue. I listened to the audiobook and loved the narrator whos tone really brought out the wonderful sense of atmosphere that this book contains. I really felt a connection with the book straight away. I felt like the book was well written and had a good pace to the story. I recommend this book to all who love reading books about family dynamics especially those about how people are affected by war or family loss. There is also trigger warnings for PTSD and neglected children.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for producing this emotional story.

Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $7.11, AUDIBLE, PB $17.34



Waterstones PB £13.99



B&N N $10.49



Kobo ebook £5.79 audio £10.99



Amazon UK K £5.69, AUDIBLE, PB £11.25


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page