top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Love, Theodosia by Lori Anne Goldstein (orangesky Audio) 5 Stars

Publication date 16/11/21 Audio time 13 hrs 31 mins, Book 384 Pages


I didn't really take to this audioboom but do not let me one person put you off trying this book remember everyone is different. I especially learnt this from my old book group every book I loved they all hated and vice verser. its so easy this days to listen or read a sample of the boo before you buy it so please take advantage of this service and i hope you love this book so much more than I did.

Many thanks to the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this book for review I'm just sorry it turned out to not be for me. I just hope that people will read and enjoy this book.





Synopsis

A Romeo & Juliet tale for Hamilton! fans. In post-American Revolution New York City, Theodosia Burr, a scholar with the skills of a socialite, is all about charming the right people on behalf of her father—Senator Aaron Burr, who is determined to win the office of president in the pivotal election of 1800. Meanwhile, Philip Hamilton, the rakish son of Alexander Hamilton, is all about being charming on behalf of his libido. When the two first meet, it seems the ongoing feud between their politically opposed fathers may be hereditary. But soon, Theodosia and Philip must choose between love and family, desire and loyalty, and preserving the legacy their flawed fathers fought for or creating their own. Love, Theodosia is a smart, funny, swoony take on a fiercely intelligent woman with feminist ideas ahead of her time who has long-deserved center stage. A refreshing spin on the Hamiltonian era and the characters we have grown to know and love. It’s also a heartbreaking romance of two star-crossed lovers, an achingly bittersweet “what if.” Despite their fathers’ bitter rivalry, Theodosia and Philip are drawn to each other and, in what unrolls like a Jane Austen novel of manners, we find ourselves entangled in the world of Hamilton and Burr once again as these heirs of famous enemies are driven together despite every reason not to be.

My Review

This is a lovely historical fiction story. I listened to the audiobook. I enjoyed seeing how hard it was for women to become a published newspaper reporter and the issues they had to overcome. It was great that there was a strong female protagonist in Theodosia. I failed however to connect fully with the story to some extent. It is a slow building story which isn't always my favourite type of book. I enjoyed the tension around whether Theodosia would get the man of her dreams or not. This is a great book for those who love this type of slow building will she won't she get the love of her life at the end. This book just wasn't for me but Don't ever let one person's review ever stop you from trying a book for yourself. Its so easy these day's to get a sample of the book before you purchase it . Just to see if you love it. Not every will like ever book so give this book a try see if you fall in love with it. I did finish the book and did enjoy many aspects of the book it could of been that it just didn't captivate my full attention so I easily became a little lost in places. I hope you enjoy this book.



Where you can buy this book

Amazon US Kindle $16.99 Available on AUDIBLE , Hardcover $18.37

Waterstones Hardcover £20.00

Google Books ebook £13.16

Barnes and Nobles Hardcover $22.99 Nook $16.99

Kobo Audiobook free with trial or £16.53 , ebook £13.16

Amazon UK Kindle £13.16 Available on Audible Hardcover £21.45

Prices are subject to change at any time

HAPPY READING

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page