top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Marathon by Nicolas Debon (Europe Comics) 5 Stars

Publication date 22/9/21 Pages 120 Pages



I have just started getting into comics as a child I was scared to read them with my dyslexia I struggle to read in order and would get easily confused not to mention there wasn't many interesting ones like there is today. so I am making up for lost time. Many thanks to the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to chose this comic to read and review I really enjoyed it so much






Synopsis

Amsterdam, August 1928. The crowd goes wild as the world's star athletes take off from the starting line for the crowning event of the Olympic Games: the marathon. Few so much as notice the short, slight Algerian runner—a factory worker by day—who wears the French jersey. But that was before a strong wind, cramps, and 42.195 kilometers of ruthless competition combined to produce an astonishing upset...



My Review

This is a marvellous that covers the 1928 Olympic marathon and its a true story. That's not to love about a true story comic. The pictures in this comic are so powerful. The author was really a genius putting this comic together. The pictures are rather simple but that is so fitting and adds a brilliant sense of atmosphere and tension this comic holds. What stood out the most was the use of colour throughout. This really created such a wonderful and powerful atmosphere. The use of brown base was rather brave of the author but it worked brilliantly for the time period of the comic making it feel old. Then the splashes of colour to allow things to stand out perfectly. This comic had me gripping the edge of my seat wanting to shout out who is going to win! All the different elements of this comic really tied in to make a spectacular reading experience. It's such a powerful and very fitting tribute to the winner of the race. I loved the added section at the end explaining the injustices of race rules in the 1920's for olympians.

I truly can't recommend this comic enough i know you will love it just as much as I did.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishing team for creating this perfect comic. I will definitely be looking out for more comics by this author.



Where you can buy this book

Amazon US Kindle $8.90

Google books Ebook £4.35

Kobo Ebook £6.49

Amazon UK Kindle £6.49

Prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you read to help others find these great books.

HAPPY READING

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page