top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Modernist Estate by Stefi Orazi (Quarto White Lion) 4 Stars

Publication date uk format 23/11/21 Book 192 Pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this book to read and review. I also need to say sorry for the delay of this review as i have had to take a 6 week break from all reading and reviewing books.




Synopsis


Modernist Estates: the buildings and the people who live in them gives us an inside look at remarkable and sometimes controversial estates in Britain and their impact on the lives of their communities. Featuring twenty-one modernist homes and their residents, including the Barbican, the Isokon, Balfron Tower and Park Hill, it provides an overview of the building, architects, historical and political context, and explores, with interviews and contemporary photography, what it's like to live on a modernist estate today.


Estates include: Isokon Pullman Court Golden Lane Estate Keeling House The Hall Dulwich Park Estate Manygate Lane Park Hill Sivill House Draper House Perronet House Barbican Brunswick Centre Byker Christchurch Estate Dunboyne Road Estate Alexandra and Ainsworth Estate Whittington Estate Greenwich Millenium Village Balfron Tower


My Review


What a very interesting and a amazing read. I do judge a book by its cover and I loved this books cover so nice and simple just drew me into reading it. I didn't actually read what the book was about but I was pleasantly surprised that not only was was it a fantastic history of modernist architecture but also show pictures of an apartment and about the people who live their to. It was brilliant I loved every minute of this book. I learnt so much from reading this book and also learning about the types of people choosing to live in these very unique buildings. The questions the author asked each resident were so interesting and made for brilliant reading. I must admit modernist buildings are not my cup of tea but it still fascinated me and I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of reading the books. The layout of the book was brilliant. I loved all the photographs included in this book. The only thing I would of liked to see more of was a picture from the same angle of the buildings present day to see the comparison of of when it was build to todays picture. So much praise goes to the author and publishers for creating this magnificent and interesting look at modernist buildings.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle $59.95 Paperback $16.82



Waterstones Hardcover £25.00 Paperback £18.99



B&N Paperback £25.00



Amazon UK Hardcover £36.08 Paperback £14.81




All prices are subject to change at any time and will not be updated. Please remember to review all books once you have finished reading them so others can find these amazing books


HAPPY READING


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page