top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Naikan by Gregg Krech (Stone Bridge Press) 3 stars

Publication date UK format 15/11/22 book 224 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Drawing on Eastern tradition, Naikan ("nye-kahn") is a structured method for intensely meditating on our lives, our interconnections, our missteps. Through Naikan we develop a natural and profound sense of gratitude for blessings bestowed on us by others, blessings that were always there but went unnoticed. This collection of introductory essays, parables, and inspirations explains what Naikan is and how it can be applied to life and celebrations throughout the year. Gregg Krech is Executive Director of the ToDo Institute, a Naikan education and retreat center near Middlebury, Vermont.


My Review


This was an interesting read. I love learning about new things and I certainly took on board some of the aspects of this book. It was interesting reading but for me a little over the top. This book will certainly work for some people. Even though it didn't fully work for me I am still glad to have read it as I have learned some great lessons from it. It was well written and mostly easy to understand and take on board. The author uses his own life as examples to back up and explain the principles of Naikan. At times I think the author shared a little too much. I was certainly cringing. Let's just say a list of what he was thankful for and what his wife does for him might have been better emitting the more intimate things. This book would be great for people to learn more about some interesting Japanese/Buddhist practices. This book certainly gives you alit to think about. Many thanks to the author and publishers for bringing us this interesting read. I am certainly thankful for the authors' efforts to explain Naikan and I will be taking on board the things that I have learnt.

Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $8.49, PB $19.85



Waterstones PB £14.99



B&N PB $19.95,EB $8.49



Kobo EB £5.99



Amazon UK K £8.27, PB £12.39



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page