top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Odd numbers by J J Marsh (Saga Egmont Audio) 4 Stars

If you are doing my book challenge ladyreading365 reading challenge on Facebook this book will fit into the following prompts #18 a thriller, #20 Audio book, #27 contains a sport, #29 containing travel, #30 crime, #34 winter read #40 set in Europe, #44 includes a forest.


I was running out of audio books fast so I have been requesting them all. This book had a great cover and the book synopsis sounded exciting. I would like to thank Netgalley and publishers for allowing me to read and review this great book.

If you are doing my book challenge ladyreading365 reading challenge on facebook this book will fit into the following prompts #18 a thriller, #20 Audio book, #27 contains a sport, #29 containing travel, #30 crime, #34 winter read #40 set in Europe, #44 includes a forest.



Synopsis


The Guilty Party meets The Secret History


Can you forgive a friend?


Strange things bring people together. Like a tragic death.


Over two decades, five friends reunite every other New Year. They celebrate, grieve and heal. Memories grow dusty and the nightmare starts to fade.


On the 20th anniversary, in a remote snowy chalet, old doubts surface.

Wounds reopen and morality comes into question.


Is friendship a safety net or a tie that hobbles to the past?


They thought they knew each other's secrets.

Did they miss the biggest one of all?


When history is rewritten, they must act to preserve the future.

A fatal decision means this reunion will be their last.


A psychological drama with beautifully portrayed characters and an intricately woven plot. The suspense emerges between the lines, grabs you softly but never lets go.


My Review


This book was brilliant. I enjoyed it that much I listened to in one day. I really enjoyed the full cast of this audio book with various accents. This book has a very creepy feel to it. There was a great sense of atmosphere and tension and I felt an immediate connection to the characters. Although one aspect of the story was predictable there were also many twists and turns along the way that I didn't expect. I really loved the aspect that a group of friends meet together every year at different countries across the world. The interactions between them made me laugh out loud at times.

The ending surprised me a little I did see apart of the ending coming but defiantly not the way it ended. I was like what ... why! I failed to understand why it ended the way it did. It left me a little disappointed hence why it got 4 stars and not the 5 it was heading for. It is well worth listening to though, as it is a great story. I'm left wondering did I miss an important point somewhere and that is why I didn't quit understand the ending, or maybe I looked to hard to find an answer. Thanks to the author and publishing team for creating such a gripping and creepy thriller for us all to enjoy.


Where you can buy this book


Waterstones Paperback £7.99




Google books Not available


Barnes and Noble Paperback $9.99




Kobo Audio book £11.30




Amazon paperback £7.99 Kindle £2.99 available on audiable and free kindle edition on Unlimited





All prices are subjected to change at any time.

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page