top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Passerby by Britney King (Orangesky Audio) 3 stars

Publication date UK format 1/2/22 Audio time 5 hrs 45 mins, Book 269 Pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this book to reading and review. All my reviews are honest. I always suggest you download a sample of any book your not sure if you will like it. This is available on a few of the links below.




Synopsis


Jester Falls has always been an idyllic town. Perfect for a getaway. And what better place to stay than Magnolia House, the tourist trap's most popular bed and breakfast, run by the eccentric Channing family. Ruth Channing loves her family—at least what's left of it. She'd do anything to protect them. But it isn't until her brother picks up a mysterious woman on the side of Route 78 that Ruth realizes how many definitions the word anything can have. Everything about Ashley Parker rings false: her past, her profession, even her name. Most worryingly of all, her reluctance to leave. When guests start disappearing, it's clear there's more at stake than just the family business... a lot more.


My Review


The storyline for this book was rather interesting. Its quite a short mystery book. I listened to the audiobook and enjoyed the narrators voice. However, I did struggle when she was reading the males voices. As it didn't sound much different from her voice I lost track of who was talking and started get a little confused. This lead to me not being fully connected with the characters. I felt we need a bit more background or descriptions of the characters to feel a better connection. Im not entirely sure if I lost my attention due to the narrator or that the book just wasn't to my tastes. I just didn't feel the flow of the book at all. But please remember I am just one person if you are a mystery fan then give it a go, try a sample of it first. I just needed a little more attention to detail, atmosphere and tension to give the extra stars. Im still glad I read it as I did enjoy the storyline and I was intrigued enough to finish the book. Thanks to the author and publishers for creating this book and allowing me to read and review it for you all.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle unlimited or $5.99, Available on Audible , Hardcover $24.99 Paperback $15.99


Waterstones Paperback £11.76


B&N Paperback $15.99 Audiobook free with trial or $15.99


Kobo Audiobook free with trial or £11.50


Amazon UK Kindle unlimited or £4.51 Available on Audible Hardcover £18.47 Paperback £11.76


All prices are subject to change at any time and will not be updated. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find the amazing books. Every review is important and extremely useful.


HAPPY READING


2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page