top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Promise Me by Jill Mansell (Headline) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 19/1/23 audio time 12h 15m book 417 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


A witty, heartwarming story of love, life and second chances set in the idyllic Cotswolds, from the glorious Jill Mansell.


'Jill Mansell is the queen of feelgood romance' Sunday Express



One minute Lou is happily employed, with a perfect flat. The next, her home and job have gone. Suddenly she has to start over.


The last thing Lou wants is to move to a tiny Cotswolds village. She certainly doesn't intend to work for curmudgeonly eighty-year-old Edgar Allsopp. But Edgar is about to make her the kind of promise nobody could ignore. In return, she secretly vows to help him fall in love with life again.


Foxwell is also home to Remy, whose charm and charisma are proving hard to ignore. But Lou hasn't recovered from the last time she fell for a charmer. She needs a distraction - and luckily one's about to turn up.


Secrets never stay hidden for long in Foxwell, nor are promises always kept. And no one could guess what lies ahead...


My Review


Wow, this was such a brilliant read. I loved every second of it. I just couldn't put it down so I had to stay up very late to finish it. From the start, I just knew I was going to love this book. Especially when I realised it had a moody old man character. I just love dry humour and this book was a perfect fit for me. I listened to the audiobook and loved the narrator it really made this book all the more enjoyable. This book has some deceitful characters which means only one thing we are in for a roller coaster ride of drama. I loved all the changes in the character's personalities. People were changing left, right and centre. There was never a dull moment. This book was so cleverly written with a great will she won't she romance. Who is genuine? Who is false? And who will surprise you? Eek, a very interesting story. And what was best is the story followed so well and was very easy to follow and connect with.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author, narrator and publishers for creating such a fantastic story that I highly recommend reading. I can't wait to read more from this fantastic author.

Where you can buy this book


Amazon US HC $26.99 OUT IN MAY



Waterstones HC £14.99



Google Books eb £9.99



KOBO eb £9.99 AUDIO £21.99



Amazon UK K £9.99, AUDIBLE, HC £9.00, PB 8.79



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page