top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Rivals On The Track by Annelise Gray (Head Of Zeus) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 3/2/22 book 279 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Dido is the only girl ever to have raced to victory at the Circus Maximus, Rome's greatest sporting arena. Now she and her beloved horse, Porcellus, are in hiding, and the Emperor Caligula has put a price on their heads. Can she outwit the emperor and his bounty hunters? And will a shocking family secret stop her in her tracks, or spur her on to make a daring return, helped by a one-eyed mare with a heart as brave as her own? Horses, history, mystery, thrilling entertainment and sensational storytelling race neck and neck through the second pulse-pounding adventure in Annelise Gray's 9+ series set in Ancient Rome.


My Review


This was a fantastic story that I really enjoyed. Even though this books target audience is 9 plus. I would say it's probably better suited for 10 plus. However, if you are like me , you will love this book as an adult. It's a great historical fiction story that is close enough to real roman chariot racing. It is an exciting and thrilling storyline. I am sure both boys and girls will love this series. I haven't read the first book in the series, but it worked really well as a standalone. I didn't feel like I had missed anything. I loved this ook so much, and I couldn't put it down, so I read it all in one evening. This book would definitely make a fantastic movie. The characters were great, lovable, and realistic. This story brought out some great emotions within me. It has such a wonderful sense of atmosphere. I really can't recommend this book enough. It's perfect for roman history fans and horse lovers.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such a wonderful and interesting story. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. This author is definitely one to look out for.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $9.99HC $15.95 PB $9.42



Waterstones HC £6.49, PB £7.99



Google Books EB£5.03



B&N EB $8.49



Kobo EB £5.99 AUDIO £10.99



Amazon UK K £5.99, AUDIBLE, HC £3.29, PB £7.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page