top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Room And Board by Miriam Parker (Penguin Dutton) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 16/8/22 book 304 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


A charming and redemptive novel about unexpected second chances, following a publicist who, after the sudden implosion of her career, takes a job as a dorm mom at a Sonoma boarding school that happens to be her alma mater Gillian thought she had everything she ever wanted—as a successful publicist running her own Manhattan firm and working with a high-profile-celebrity clientele, she finally made herself at home among the elite who eluded her throughout her youth. That is, until her career implodes, leaving her jobless, friendless, and with a googleable reputation that follows her everywhere. So, when she receives an offer to become a “dorm mom” at Glen Ellen Academy, the prestigious Sonoma boarding school she attended two decades earlier on scholarship, she leaps at the opportunity for a change of scene—at least until she can figure out how to rehabilitate her career. But Gillian is surprised to find herself enjoying her new life: her role as a mentor is unexpectedly fulfilling, she finds a community, and most surprisingly of all she runs into an old flame from her own time at school, who is just as dashing now as he was then. However, just as she begins to feel comfortable, a scandal surfaces on campus that threatens to derail everything, and Gillian must figure out how to save her job, her students, her friends, and her new romance before it’s too late.


My Review


This was a brilliant story. I knew from the start that I was going to love it. This was definitely a page turning novel. That took me on a roller coaster ride. I just loved all the characters and their development which made the book all the more enjoyable. I especially liked that there was such a varied age range of characters. They really worked well together. I loved the hint of romance in this book especially with all its complications. I was a little surprised by the ending. I loved how unique the storyline was and how the story develops. It was so nice and drama in a relaxed fashion. She was unflappable which is more realistic. Its nice to see a level headed female protagonist. When I found out her job I was wondering how this story would evolve. I came up with nothing so the events in the story was a nice surprise. Going off other reviews I think this is going to be a marmite book. You either love it or hate it. I loved every minute. So definitely try a sample to see if this book is for you. I can't recommend this book enough it will be great for YA, new adult and adults.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such an exciting story that will have you rapidly turnering the pages. I will definitely be looking out for more books by this fantastic author.


Where you can buy this book from

Amazon US K $9.45, AUDIBLE, PB $16.99


Waterstones PB £14.99


Google Books ebook £10.29


B&N PB $17.00, EBOOK $11.99, AUDIOBOOK


Kobo ebook £6.99, audiobook £15.21


Amazon UK K £7.99, AUDIBLE , PB £14.99


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page