top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Silver Trail Christmas by Nik James (Kensington Books) 3.5 stars

Publication date UK edition 11/10/22 pb a month later. book 312 pages, book 3 of 4 in the series


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


In this riveting historical western, feared gunslinger Caleb Marlowe is out to save his partner from the ruthless ambition of the town's railroad-obsessed power broker. For years, Caleb Marlowe has been following a hard trail. But fate finally seems to be smiling on him. The ranch he and his partner have been building is ready for a herd of longhorns, and a ghost from his troubled past is about to dance at the end of hangman's rope. With winter descending on the Colorado boom town of Elkhorn, Caleb's future looks bright. But in the wild West, a man's fortune can turn with the speed of a mountain storm. When his partner is jailed for murder, his herd taken by rustlers, and his ranch nearly destroyed, Marlowe knows someone is trying to run him off. His nemesis, Elijah Starr, has been pardoned and hired by Judge Patterson--the local power broker--to build a railroad, and they are two men who will stop at nothing to get what they want. Marlowe stands alone against a gang of hired killers. The stakes could not be higher, and the cards are stacked against him. A final shootout is coming, but in Elkhorn no one--especially Caleb Marlowe--goes down without a fight.


My Review


This was a good story. I enjoyed reading it and finished in half a day. I was slightly baffled by the title. It made me think I wonder what a cowboys Christmas is like getting excited to read it. Well I still have no idea! I don't think Christmas was ever mentioned gutted. Oh well let's talk about the story. I really enjoyed this story as most of it was ranch based. As calab wants to settle down but gets tied up with some cattle rustlers. There is plenty of action and gunslinging in this one. The author writes well with plenty of description. This creates a great sense of atmosphere and tension. I liked how in this novel we got to know more of calebs past and his teenage years. Very interesting! And I must say shocking. This book has a great medium pace that was fitting for the story. I really loved it when caleb gets a blast from his past leading to a good ending. ;) I actually rated this book 3.5 stars rounded up as it was better than an average rating. Its wasn't that far off the 4th star but I can't give it as I always stay honest to myself. This book is great if you loved old style western books like w w Johnstone. I do recommend that you read all the books in the series as I think this is book 3 in the series.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for creating another enjoyable read.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $4.82, AUDIBLE, MMPB $7.00



Waterstones PB £6.99



Google Books EB £4.31



B&N PB $8.99, EB $6.99, AUDIOBOOK



Kobo EB £4.99, AUDIO £13.99



Amazon UK K £4.31, AUDIBLE, MMPB £8.05



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page