top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Someday The Plan of a Town by Todd Boss (W.W Norton) 3 Stars

Publication date UK format 18/1/22 Book 104 Pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this book to read and review for you all. All my reviews are honest. Just remember I am one person always download a sample of the book to see if you like the book if in doubt.




Synopsis


In 2018, reeling from marital, parental, and societal losses, acclaimed poet Todd Boss risked everything to be at one with the world. Boss sold his belongings and began to circle the globe in a series of consecutive housesits. He alternately inhabited thatched-roof farmhouses, hillside estates, urban apartments, and lush gardens in Berlin, Barcelona, Austin, Austria, Marrakesh, Singapore, Baltimore, Auckland, and more. The poems in Someday the Plan of a Town are his only souvenirs. Written under the influence of long walks along the Thames and the Pacific, of mornings at farmers’ markets, train stations, and mountaintop basilicas, Someday the Plan of a Town conjures Spanish dust, English rain, French moss, Arizona cliffs, and Hungarian light, ringing all the while with timeless humor and wisdom. At the same time, these poems concern the most domestic of matters—personal grief and familial estrangement, reflections on a changing nation, and a journey of self-discovery that offers a new meaning of home. As much a commentary on modern-day America as a personal history replete with grief, Someday the Plan of a Town is a sensual, intellectual, and arrestingly musical map of one nomadic troubadour’s journey to self.


My Review


I enjoyed reading this poetry book. This is a great collection of poems by and author that has enjoyed travelling the world. Writing a poem for each location. I really enjoyed the first part of the book. Although it was not my preferred style of poetry it still held my attention and I appreciated the words. As poetry is unique to each individual I always suggest trying a digital sample of the book fist to see if it works for you. As every authors style is just as different as our own tastes. You could tell the author was Writing with a real passion. You could also feel that atmosphere in his words from each country he visited. I played a game while reading this book, trying to guess which country the poet was in before I found out. I actually got a few right. Most of these poems read like short prose snippets of places visited in a very modern style. I just have to mention how much I loved the cover of this book it really drew me in. Many thanks to the author and publishers for creating a wonderful travel journey through poetry.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle $25.02 Hardcover $21.99



Waterstones Hardcover £19.99



Google Books ebook £12.99



B&N Hardcover $26.95 Nook $17.99



Kobo ebook £14.39



Amazon UK Kindle £18.99 Hardcover £17.65


All prices are subject to change at any time and will not be updated. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books.


HAPPY READING


2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page