top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Space Is Cool As F*ck by Kate Howells (Andrew McMeel Audio) 5 Stars

Publication date 5/10/21 Audion 3 hrs 5 mins Book 285 page


I love anything and everything to do with space I have always been into science from High school age. I didn't mind the swear word in the title because space is cool as f*ck. This audiobook went into a different realm of Profanity. "is all this swearing really necessary" If you enjoy this type of book it will fit into the following prompts for ladyreading365 reading challenge 2022 #12 #20 #26 #1 #50




Synopsis


Taking all the best bits of science and fusing it all together, Space is Cool as Fuck will be finding a permanent home on living room tables around the world. With a brief history of the whole universe, you’ll be left scratching your head and gazing up in absolute wonder.


Everything you thought you could never understand about the universe is explained in plain-old filthy English. Giving you a little taste of the glorious reality you inhabit by providing an introduction to some of the incredible stuff out there.


Over 50 chapters on subjects including:


What actually happened during the big bang

black holes

time travel

the degenerate astronomer who drank all night and died from holding his bladder… and also lost his nose in a duel

the things you take for granted until you really think about them; like matter – what the fuck is all this shit that we are?

Space is Cool as Fuck features more than 100 wild artworks, photographs and illustrations from 40 international young artists curated by brilliant designer Cynthia Larenas. From hand-picked unknowns like Kate Kurucz and Adrian du P.B. through up-and-comers like Aida Azin, Waiton Fong and Cal Sinadinovic, to the more established Kareena Zerefos, Chrissie Abbot, Uno Moralez, Regan Tanamui (Ha Ha) and Marina Zumi, each artist brings their own aesthetic to the majesty and wonder of space giving the book its exquisitely eclectic style



my review


Beware of overbearing profanity. Please don't allow under 18's hear this book. I was glad my daughter wasn't around when I listened to this audiobook. I failed to warm to the narrator I felt the attempt at humour felt rather false. I couldn't work out which demographic this book was focus at I wasn't even sure there was one. This book was not to my taste because of the amount of profanity. The odd word great but the overwhelming amount just angered me as this book would of been a 4 or 5 star read without it. I'm not one of these people who refuse to swear. I just don't find enjoyment in a book that every other word is a swear word or borderline inappropriate. Taking away most of the swear words and it becomes a very humorous informative read for those new to space science. I really enjoyed the simplified facts about space and the humorous facts. I adored the interview with Bill Nye as it covered a wide range of subjects and facts. I did learn new things from this book and am glad I read it, I just wish it was a bit different.


Where can you buy this book


Amazon kindle $9.99


Barnes and Noble hardcover $17.99 Nook$ 8.99


Amazon UK Hardcover £ 13.40


All prices are subject to change at any time. Happy reading.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page