top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Superworld by Benjamin Keyworth (Podium) 5 Stars

Publication date UK format 9/8/22 book 304 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Matt Callaghan is in trouble. In a world where everyone has superpowers, he's got squat, and has spent the last five years faking being clairvoyant just to avoid getting caught. Unfortunately, Matt's lies have started to catch up to him, and when a desperate bluff backfires he'll need every ounce of cunning, conning and juvenile delinquency to stay undetected and alive.


Jane Walker is trouble. In a world where everyone is powerful, Jane stands alone and apart, hated for her ability to copy abilities and atrocities far beyond her control. But fate is a fickle friend, and a chance encounter soon finds Jane hurtling towards her lifelong dream - or prejudice, humiliation and a violent, painful death.


Unbeknownst to them, Matt and Jane’s paths are inextricably intertwined, and as each struggles to find their place an unseen force will draw them ever forward – closer and closer to a secret whose existence threatens not just their lives, but the fate of the entire world.


A loving homage to and twist on the superhero genre, Superworld is a fun, subversive story about identity, empathy, connection and courage which has been called “very entertaining and creative” and “an absolute pleasure” by readers, and "completely illegible" by the author's blind grandfather.


My Review


This book was amazing. I just loved it from the start. I got this book because I loved the cover. The simplicity of it drew me in. I'm not a big reader of sci-fi books as its difficult to find ones that I like because I'm autistic and they have to have logic. Yet this one worked so well it was fantastic. I loved the fact it had teenage characters as it is aimed at 15 to 18 yr old. With all the super powers it was so much fun this lead to the book being a real page turner. I loved the characters and how they had to deal with everyday problems. Especially coping with being different from others and getting bullied. I was so engrossed in this book that I lost track of time and finished it in one day. This is a very thrilling story line with a medium to fast pace and was so interesting that it kept my interest throughout. This author is definitely one to watch out for as the writing style was brilliant and flowed seamlessly. I really can't recommend this book enough to both adult and teenage sci-fi fans. I just know you are going to love it just as much as I did. I am actually hoping there is a sequel.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such a magnificent story that was a fantastic roller coaster ride. I just can't wait to read more.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K UNLIMITED OR $4.99, AUDIBLE, PB $14.99



Waterstones PB £12.99



B&N PB $14.99



Amazon UK K UNLIMITED OR £4.13, AUDIBLE, PB £12.32



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page