top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Unwelcome Guest by Amanda Robson Harper Collins / Avon)

I received this book thanks to Netgalley and the publishers Harper Collins which was an Avon production. I am often intrigued by dark covers and title of this nature. Yes I know I do judge a book by its cover, as i am guessing many of you often do secretly of course. I didn't even read the synopsis before requesting this title. If the title get me or the picture intrigued me I'm all in. Once again my gut instinct was correct it was brilliant.



Synopsis


SHE HAD THE PERFECT MARRIAGE. UNTIL HER MOTHER-IN-LAW MOVED IN…


Saffron vowed to love Miles no matter what life threw at them both. But when her mother-in-law moves into their happy family home, Saffron’s shiny life begins to tarnish.


Even as Caprice’s barbed comments turn to something more sinister, Saffron hopes the new nanny’s arrival will shield her from the worst of it. She’s starting to feel paranoid in her own home.


Little does she realise that Caprice longs for a new daughter-in-law – and she’ll do anything to make that happen…

My review


I listened to the audio version of this book and it was amazing. There was a full cast which made the book come alive. The book follows a series of events through the eyes of the various characters. It was so full of unexpected twists and turns i actually found my self shouting out loud NO WAY!! It was brilliant, gripping, edge of your seat, page turning amazement that I just couldn't put it down. (or pause it as i was listening to it lol). The depths of the characters and the believable story-line what what made this book stand out for me. i felt that all important connection to the book.

Who doesn't love a book about the mother in law from hell who is out to destroy your marriage and career. Who will stop at nothing to get her own way.

The ending I'm not giving anything away was unexpected and totally brilliant (see i don't do spoilers ever).

A massive thank you to the author and publishing team for making such a fantastic book. I can't wait to see what this author will produce next.


where to purchase this book



Amazon kindle £2.99 paperback £8.99

Google books £2.99

Kobo £2.99






2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page