top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Attraction: House of Illusion by Rick Polito (Wise Wolf Books) 5 Stars

Publication date UK format Nov 2021 book 306 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


From the author of Off Trail comes a hilarious mystery about what happens when a chilling trip leads to a lost fortune. Nate and Lily knew their mother was different. All it took was a hunch or a bad feeling and the family would be uprooted and moving to a different apartment or even a different town. But when the two are torn out of their life in the ritzy North Bay for the summer and dropped in "the Mississippi of California" on the Sacramento River Delta, Nate Caldwell and his sister Lily see it as one more move in a series of lurching disruptions driven by their mother's suspicion that something or someone is after them. When they settle into life around their uncle's House of Illusion roadside attraction, Nate meets Mia—who makes all the girls he knew in the North Bay seem shallow and dull—and begins to connect with local teens who couldn't be more different than the privileged classmates he left behind. It's not until they learn that the story behind the attraction is more than just a tale for the tourists that Nate begins to figure out what drove his mother's suspicious nature.


My Review


This is an amazing young adult book. From the very start I became so engrossed in this fantastically thrilling page turning novel. I just couldn't put it down. It's so full of brilliant suspense and atmosphere and you just didn't know what was going to happen next. I connected straight away with the characters and became emotionally involved in the characters lives. The story-line was so brilliantly wrote creating a wonderful cultural mystery that was action packed. In fact I would go as far as saying I totally forgot I was reading it played through my head like I was watching a movie and I totally forgot it was a fiction book. I even started to believe the myths were real. This book would be brilliant for ages 15+ and adults are going to love reading it too. I couldn't fault this book in any way it felt like a privilege to read this great book. Rick is definitely my favourite YA fiction writer and I can't wait to read more of his books.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such a magnificent story that will have you at the edge of your seat.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K UNLIMITED OR $4.99, PB $15.00



Waterstones PB £14.99



B&N PB $17.99



Amazon UK K UNLIMITED OR £3.99 PB £8.61


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page