top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Best Of World SF Vol 2 by Lavie Tidhar (Head Of Zeus) 4 stars

Publication date UK format 13/10/22, book 658 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Twenty-nine new short stories representing the state of the art in international science fiction.The future is coming. It knows no bounds, and neither should science fiction. They say the more things change the more they stay the same. But over the last hundred years, science fiction has changed. Vibrant new generations of writers have sprung up across the globe, proving the old adage false. From Jamaica to Japan, from Bolivia to Bahrain, from Italy to Iraq, they draw on their unique backgrounds and culture, changing the face of the genre one story at a time. Prepare yourself for a journey through the wildest reaches of the imagination, to visions of Earth as it might be and the far corners of the universe. In The Best of World SF, award-winning author Lavie Tidhar acts as guide and companion to a world of stories, from never-before-seen originals to award winners, from twenty-six countries and seven languages. Because the future is coming and it belongs to us all.


My Review


This was a great collection of short stories. Each story had a brief description on why the editor chose it and it's history. I am not a big sci-fi reader but I like to tip my ties into the world to sample some great stories. This one didn't disappoint me as it seem to have something for everyone's taste. It's a great book to find new authors or to help you would out what type of sci-fi books you like. I also like trying the different styles or writing. Obviously when testing the waters I definitely enjoyed some stories more than others but I read and experienced each and every one. I misunderstood the title I thought world would of ment our world meaning dystopia style stories. However this book focuses of writers from all over the world including some translated stories. There were plenty of stories to sample and silly me didn't write down the titles or the ones that were my favourites. I thought the book was heavy on the artifical intelligence stories though. I really liked my sci-fi stories set in space and those write about Mars. The book worked and flowed well. I like the way the author set them into loose sections based on type of story. This would recommend this book to those new to sci-fi and those looking to find new authors. What's good is you can always try a sample of the book from retail sites to see if this book is a perfect fit for you. I especially loved the first few stories.

So much praise goes out to the editor and publishers for putting together this collection of stories. I'm hoping there is another book but fingers crossed it is organised into sub genres so I can find my best type of SCI-FI stories as this would help others to find their niche market.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $9.03, HC $39.95, PB $17.99



Waterstones HC £25.00



B&N HC $39.95, EB $12.99



Kobo EB £7.99



Amazon UK K £7.99, HC £16.99, PB £10.11


HAPPY READING



4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page