top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Burning Road BY Harry Sidebottom (Bonnier Books) 4 stars

Publication date UK format 30/9/21 book 319 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


AD265 - In the shadow of Mount Etna, slaves are rising up. As the rebel leader declares Sicily the new land of the free, men and women are slaughtered, and cities across the island are sacked and burned. When a ship is wrecked off the island's west coast, all but two survivors are cut down in the surf by the rebel slaves. Ballista, an experienced Roman soldier, has always found a way to survive against the odds - but his son Marcus is still just a boy. With the burning road stretching out ahead of them, father and son must cross the war-ravaged island in a race against time to save the rest of his family, and somehow find a way to extinguish the brutal rebellion, before it all goes up in flames.


My Review


This was a brilliant and exciting story. I just loved all the description and action that this novel held. I couldn't put it down and had to binge read it in one sitting. I really loved how early into the story that the action started and remained throughout the book. It is the first book that I have read by the author and it certainly won't be the last. I just can't wait to read more. It was obvious that this author knew alot about roman history. It was sowell wrote that it played like a movie in my head. I forgot I was reading a book. The story has an amazing pace to it but it's so interesting that you will definitely won't want to stop reading this page turning novel. There characters were brilliant and realistic and so life like. I also loved how the author incorporated the eruption of Mt etna to the book. It was great reading about the author before and after the book it made the book better to understand and I got more involved in its progress. What better its like a real life history book and a real roller coaster ride that you are left wanting more. It was so close to a 5 star book but my head for some reason wouldn't let me give it.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such a brilliant fast pace novel that made me feel emotionally invested in its development. I will definitely be looking out for more books by this very talented author.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $8.98, HC $15.13, PB $12.90



Waterstones PB £9.99



Google Books EB £9.99



B&N EB $16.49



Kobo EB £7.99, A £13.99



Amazon UK K £7.99, AUDIBLE, HC £12.79, PB £8.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING



0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page