top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Dark Tide by Simon McCleave (Harpercollins) (Avon) 4 Stars

Publication date UK format 12/8/22 audio time 10h 16m, book 76 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Bestselling phenomenon Simon McCleave is back with a gripping, atmospheric new crime thriller series set on the Isle of Anglesey. Will there be blood in the water? Three years ago, DCI Laura Hart was the top Hostage and Crisis Negotiator for the Greater Manchester Police. Then her husband was kidnapped. Despite her best efforts to reason with the criminals, he was brutally murdered. Now living on the Isle of Anglesey in Wales, Laura is slowly healing. Then she gets a call: armed drug dealers have seized a tourist boat – and her ten-year-old son Jake is on board. There’s no other negotiator available, and the police need her to step up. With the life of a loved one yet again on the line and memories of the last time she failed still searingly fresh, Laura is living her worst nightmare. Can she lay to rest the ghosts of her past in time to save her son?


My Review


This was a brilliant book. I loved it from the start. I loved it even more when I realised it was set in Wales. I listened to the audiobook and loved the narrator with her Welsh accent it really added to the book. She really created a brilliant sense of atmosphere and tension. The story-line was thrilling and I was totally engrossed in this novel and had to binge read it. I don't actually read a lot of police crime thrillers but I will definitely be reading more from this author. The author likes to add those extra little details which at times felt a little like product placement but it didn't take much away from this brilliant story. It actually made me laugh at times and reminiscent a little. This also made it a lot easier to picture in my mind. It was definitely a thrilling ride and I just loved the characters. I have to mention how much I loved the ending. It really did make me feel like the book was complete and there was nothing left to wonder over.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishing team for creating this thrilling, action packed crime novel set in such a wonderful place.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $6.99, AUDIBLE, PB $16.99



Waterstones PB £8.99



Google Books ebook £0.99



B&N PB $16.99 N £6.99



KOBO ebook £0.99 audiobook £14.49



Amazon UK K £0.99, AUDIBLE, PB £7.37


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page