top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Family Remains by Lisa Jewell ( Random House) 3 stars

Publication date UK format 21/7/22 book 384 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell comes an intricate and affecting novel about twisted marriages, fractured families, and deadly obsessions in this standalone sequel to The Family Upstairs. Early one morning on the shore of the Thames, DCI Samuel Owusu is called to the scene of a gruesome discovery. When Owusu sends the evidence for examination, he learns the bones are connected to a cold case that left three people dead on the kitchen floor in a Chelsea mansion thirty years ago. Rachel Rimmer has also received a shock—news that her husband, Michael, has been found dead in the cellar of his house in France. All signs point to an intruder, and the French police need her to come urgently to answer questions about Michael and his past that she very much doesn’t want to answer. After fleeing London thirty years ago in the wake of a horrific tragedy, Lucy Lamb is finally coming home. While she settles in with her children and is just about to purchase their first-ever house, her brother takes off to find the boy from their shared past whose memory haunts their present. As they all race to discover answers to these convoluted mysteries, they will come to find that they’re connected in ways they could have never imagined. In this masterful standalone sequel to her haunting New York Times bestseller, The Family Upstairs, Lisa Jewell proves she is writing at the height of her powers with another jaw-dropping, intricate, and affecting novel about the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love and uncover the truth.


My Review


This a a good read and I did enjoy reading it. After loving the family upstairs I really couldn't wait to read this book. I finished reading it in one day. I am definitely glad I read it as it tidied up the loose ends. I have to mention I was some what disappointed. I was expected this to be an edge of your seat novel that was sure to finish with the authors signature bang full of so many twists and turns. This was not the case. Yes the build up was really good but instead of a bang it was moreover a fizzle. A bit like those boxes of mixed fireworks you get from the supermarkets. I have to ask myself was the author just under pressure to write a sequel she didn't want to write or was I expected to much? I so wanted that bang the author always gives.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for giving the fans the sequel they so much wanted. I hope you all love this book more than I did.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $14.99, AUDIBLE, HC $16.99



Waterstones HC SIGNED £16.99, HC £16.99



Google Books ebook £9.99



B&N HC $23.99 N $14.99



Kobo ebook £9.99 audiobook £13.00



Amazon UK K £9.99, AUDIBLE, HC £8.49



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.


HAPPY READING


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page