top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The First Day of Spring by Nancy Tucker (Penguin) 4 stars

Publication date 24/6/21 Paperback early Feb 388 Pages



I would like to thank the Author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick and read this book for review. My reviews are always honest.






Synopsis


"So that was all it took," I thought. "That was all it took for me to feel like I had all the power in the world. One morning, one moment, one yellow-haired boy. It wasn't so much after all." Meet Chrissie... Chrissie is eight and she has a secret: she has just killed a boy. The feeling made her belly fizz like soda pop. Her playmates are tearful and their mothers are terrified, keeping them locked indoors. But Chrissie rules the roost -- she's the best at wall-walking, she knows how to get free candy, and now she has a feeling of power that she never gets at home, where food is scarce and attention scarcer. Twenty years later, adult Chrissie is living in hiding under a changed name. A single mother, all she wants is for her daughter to have the childhood she herself was denied. That's why the threatening phone calls are so terrifying. People are looking for them, the past is catching up, and Chrissie fears losing the only thing in this world she cares about, her child.


My Review


Wow this is an incredible and powerful story. I just couldn't get over how fantastic the writing style of this book was. It totally engrossed me and time just flew away. It was such a dark and highly emotional book it just haunted me. The emotions just consumed the whole of me and by the end I was in tears. It was a story like nothing I had ever read before. I found it very difficult to get over this book it is such a unique story. This book won't be leaving me for a very long time. This book is a dual timeline following an 8 year old child who's mother doesn't look after her at all and then it follows her as she is older with her own child. It unbelievable how haunting this book is the atmosphere and tension within will blow your mind. The only reason this book didn't get full stars was because I have never been haunted so much by a book and I struggled to cope with the feeling, this has never happened to me before. I just couldn't get over how powerful and well wrote it really was which is a credit to the author and publishers. They have clearly created the next big seller. I am so that everyone will read this book . Thank you so much for creating this epic story wow.


Where you can buy this book ( Paperback book is due out early feb 2022)


Amazon US Kindle $14.99 Available on Audible Hardcover $9.98



Waterstones Paperback pre order sale £7.49



Google Books ebook £2.99



B&N Hardcover $22.99 Nook $14.99 Large Print $29.00


Kobo Audiobook free with trial or £13.00 ebook £13.00




Amazon UK Kindle £2.99 Available on audible Hardcover £10.55 pb out in feb






All prices are subject to change at any time. Please always remember to review all books you read any where you can so other people can find these amazing. Also I have noticed a spate of negative reviews on books due to historical inaccuracies please remember it's a work of fiction and doesn't need to be accurate as the history writer Dan Jones said recently.


Happy Reading

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page