top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Hidden Child by Rebecca Griffiths (Bookouture) 5 Stars

Publication date UK format 24/2/22 audio time 10h 47m book 355 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.



Synopsis


Connie splashed through puddles, the rain slapping her face. Everywhere was tarmac and concrete, fog and drizzle, but no sign of her child. ‘Have you seen my daughter? Please, you must’ve seen her?’ Connie’s face crumpled, preparing to cry. But there wasn’t time for tears, she told herself, she had to find her child. Manchester, England, 1965: In an instant Connie’s life has changed. She only left her daughter Kathy alone for a moment but that was enough for her to vanish without a trace. As Connie desperately searches for her, she has to put the news reports of other missing children to the back of her mind. She is determined to find her safe. She will bring her daughter home. As local farmer Ronald listens to the news, he is shocked by what he hears. He has spent his life away from the spotlight, quietly tending to his farm. But when a young couple begin acting suspiciously on his land, he knows that trouble is about to reach his door. And then he sees her. A girl in a bright red coat who looks completely lost. Ronald knows he needs to help keep her safe and find her family. But on the wild and desolate farmland, Ronald has buried his own dark secret. Can he risk it coming to light to save her life? Inspired by a real-life true crime story, this is an unforgettable and totally gripping mystery thriller perfect for fans of Gregg Olsen, Elly Griffiths and Found. (Previously titled: The Body on the Moor)


My Review


This was an amazing tension filled roller coaster of a ride novel. I loved every minute of it. I listened to the audiobook and the narrators were just perfectly matched to this book. They created so much atmosphere and tension and I just loved the accents. This fantastic story is set in Manchester and surrounding areas and Yorkshire following the story of Myra Hindley, Ian Hunt and Fred West. Its a fiction book inspired by the true crime event and you just won't be able to put this bookdown. The author produces such a magnificent story that you will be like me truly haunted. I became fully engrossed and just couldn't believe the twists to this story I was on the edge of my seat throughout. This thriller had me bing reading and completely losing track of time. It flowed seamlessly moving between the fascinating characters lots of emotions surfaced while reading this book. I just can't recommend this book enough and already have my auntie reading and loving this book just as much as I did. I'm sure you all love it just as much as I did. This is definitely the next big seller.

So much praise goes out to the author, narrators and publishing team for bringing us this brilliant and shocking tale.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $2.59 available on Audible, PB $11.99



Waterstones PB £9.99



B&N PB $11.99 N $3.99



Kobo ebook £1.99



Amazon UK K £1.99 Audible £3.99 PB £9.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.


HAPPY READING


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page