top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Last Summer by Karen Swan (Macmillian Audio) 5 Stars

Publication date UK format 21/7/22 audio time 14h 8m book 400 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Wild-spirited Effie Gillies has lived all her life on the small island of St Kilda but when Lord Sholto, heir to the Earl of Dumfries, visits, the attraction between them is instant. For one glorious week she guides the handsome young visitor around the isle, falling in love for the first time – until a storm hits and her world falls apart.


My Review


Wow this was such a fantastic story. I was so engrossed from the very start and quickly lost track of all time. I loved the female protagonist Effie. She was strong, confident and such a lovable character. In fact they all were I don't think there was a character I didn't like. I especially loved the characters you love to hate. They are were realistic, believable and so well developed.

I listened to the audiobook and completely loved the narrator she was so perfect for this novel and really brought out the wonderful sense of atmosphere that the author created in this book. I adored her Scottish accent and her posh voice the most. I love this author as she develops not only a incredible story like this one but you become so involved emotional with the story. I had a real connection and it made me feel so happy and relaxed while listening to it. I did speed up the audiobook a bit but that's to peoples tastes. This book had a great medium pace to it which felt so right for the genre.

I loved the setting of this book st kilda Scotland outer hebradies. I loved how the author moved the characters from a poor small community to the world of the rich in mainland Scotland. It really allowed you to experience the problem and issues that the author so cleverly created. I really couldn't put this page turner down it was a real roller coaster ride. I hated leaving it to go to bed. There were plenty of unexpected events and the ending left my jaw on the floor. the next book so far is called the stolen hour out july next year eek.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author, narrator and publishers for creating such an exciting, engaging novel that I know you will just love. This author is definitely one to watch. I have everything crossed for further books by this very talented author.

I only just noticed this is the first book in what will be the best series I have probably ever read if the first book is anything to go off. Eek I'm already impatiently awaiting the next book.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $9.66, AUDIBLE, HC $24.83



Waterstones HC £14.99



Google Books ebook £7.99




B&N HC $24.95, N $11.49, AUDIOBOOK $19.98




Kobo ebook £7.99, audiobook £14.99



Amazon UK K £7.99, AUDIBLE 0.99 , HC £10.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING

10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page