top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Light We Left Behind by Tessa Harris (Harpercollins) 4 Stars

Audio publication date UK format, audio time 9hrs 57m, book 369 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


England: 1944 When psychologist Maddie Gresham is sent a mysterious message telling her to report to Trent Park mansion, she wonders how she will be helping the war effort from a stately home. She soon finds captured Nazi generals are being detained at the house. Bugged with listening devices in every room, it’s up to Maddie to gain the Nazis’ trust and coax them into giving up information. When Max Weitzler, a Jewish refugee, also arrives at Trent Park with the same mission, Maddie finds herself trapped in a dangerous game of chess. The two met in Germany before the war, and Maddie’s heart was his from the moment they locked eyes. But Maddie has finally gained the trust of the Nazi officers at the house, and her love for Max must remain a secret. When the walls have ears, who can you trust? Based on the true events that took place at Trent Park during WWII, this is an emotionally gripping, and heart-breaking novel about love, sacrifice, and betrayal, perfect for fans of The Rose Code and The Lost Girls of Paris.


My Review


This book was brilliant I really loved it. I listened to the audiobook and loved the narrator voice and created a brilliant sense of atmosphere. I soon became engrossed in the story. I loved how the author created the characters leading me to connect well with them especially the main character and the German general. The story-line was rather brilliant its a real page turner novel. In fact I struggled to put it down and had to stay up late to finish reading it. This book brought out so much emotions within me. I was rooting for the German general as you could see and feel his transformation coming. But will he change his alliances well you will have to read the book, I'm not giving anything away. Let's just say the ending had me on the edge of my seat. I just love books with brilliant twists and turns and this book did not disappoint. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishers for producing such an emotional roller coaster of a novel. That I'm positive will have you on the edge of your seat.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle $3.99 Available on Audible Paperback $13.80



Waterstones Paperback £8.99



Google Books ebook £0.99



B&N Paperback $16.99 Nook $3.99 Available on Audiobook



Kobo ebook £0.99 Audiobook free with trial or £13.99



Amazon UK Kindle £0.99 Available on Audible £3.99 Paperback £7.37


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page