top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Measure of Gold by Sarah Patten (Books Forward Audio) 5 Stars

publication date Audiobook 17/12/21 time 11 hrs 31 mins Book 356 Pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to choose this book to read and review.





Synopsis


In Sarah C. Patten’s WWII-era novel, “The Measure of Gold” (Ashland Press, March 2, 2021), it is the fall of 1940 and Germany has just invaded France. Across the ocean, in Sweetwater, Tennessee, Penelope receives an urgent letter from her childhood friend, Naomie, urging her to Paris. Bereft from the loss of her widowed father, Penelope leaves her life and reunites with her lost friend. There, she meets Naomie’s brother, the brilliant, mad alchemist Fulcanelli and his mysterious apprentice Lucien. As Penelope falls headlong into the esoteric world of alchemy and espionage, she is assigned to spy on the clients of a powerful French brothel. She listens, learns, and dances to seduce one of the most infamous murderers of World War II in a desperate calculation to save Lucien. Through the devastating magic of life, Penelope learns that alchemy has far more to do with the person than the element. An epic story of betrayal and courage, “The Measure of Gold” showcases the heroine’s journey during wartime, and serves as a powerful reminder of what’s needed for us to transform from stone to pure gold.


My Review


This is a superb historical fiction book. I just couldn't put it down, with its brilliant and unique story line I was engrossed from the very first page. I listened to the audiobook and the narrator was brilliant at creating a fantastic sense of atmosphere and tension. I adored the narrators various accents brilliant and this added to the whole listening experience. I definitely recommend this audiobook so much. I loved the scientific aspect of this book with the inclusion of Newton's papers being vital to the French resistance. There was plenty of unexpected twists and turns in the book that had you on the edge of your seat. The characters in this book were very interesting and quirky creating a wonderful story. I felt a read connection which the main character a real strong female protagonist and found myself eagerly willing her on hoping that things will work out for her in the end. I became so engrossed in this novel I would often lose all track of time meaning there was a late night as I just had to know what would happen next. So much praise goes to the author and publishers for bringing us such a gripping and tension fill historical fiction book that will stay with me for some time. I just can't wait to read more from this author.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle $10.26 Available on Audible Paperback $15.99


Waterstones Paperback £10.99




Barnes & Noble Paperback $15.99 Nook $9.49



Kobo ebook £6.79




Amazon UK Kindle £7.55 Available on Audible Paperback £12.08



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you read so that others can find these amazing books


HAPPY READING

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page