top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Orphans of Mersea House by Marty Wingate (Alcove Press) 3.5 stars

Publication date UK format 9/8/22 book 278 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


the tradition of Kristin Harmel and Elise Hooper, USA Today bestseller Marty Wingate transports us to postwar England’s Suffolk coast in a rich historical drama about love lost—and promise found. England, 1957. Olive Kersey’s only love never returned from World War II, and now, she’s alone and penniless. Then, the last person she ever expected to see again returns to Southwold. Olive’s childhood friend, Margery Paxton, arrives to claim her inheritance: Mersea House, a stately old home she plans to turn into the town’s only lodging. Olive’s life takes a sunny turn when Margery hires her to run the establishment. But Mersea House holds its own mysteries—and its own dangers. First, rumors begin to fly when two enigmatic lodgers move in: Hugh Hodson, manager of the town cinema, and Mrs. Abigail Claypool, a recluse and war widow. And then, the completely unexpected: Margery is informed she has a new ward, eleven-year-old Juniper Wyckes, the orphaned daughter of Margery’s first love. Mrs. Lucie Pagett, Children’s Officer at the local authority, informs Margery that Juniper was severely stricken with polio as a child, and makes clear that she could be taken away if her welfare is in jeopardy. Olive fears Juniper is being bullied at school because of her disability, even as the girl begins to thrive at home. But the past is never far behind for the inhabitants of Mersea House, and looming secrets may destroy these friendships they've created.


My Review


The was a nice enough story that I did enjoy. I read the book in one day and found it nice and relaxing. I actually rated it 3.5 but rounded up as it was better than a 3 star rating. At first I thought I had read it before as I have read another book with a similar start but it soon changed to be different. I did like the main characters in the book and warmed to them. They were realistic and developed well enough. They just wasn't all that exciting nor allow me to feel their emotions. It was a slow burning book and the storyline was enjoyable it just didn't capture my full attention with was rather disappointing as it started put with so much promise. I did like the main female protagonist and her sister. I loved there relationship development. This book takes place in the aftermath of WW2. This book is very character driven and I really needed more of an exciting storyline that engages more with the reader. I did like the ending. Remember I am one person my views maybe very different from yours so read a sample to see if this book is your 5 star read

Many thanks to the author and publishers for creating this enjoyable story that I am sure others will like more than I did.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $13.90, AUDIBLE, HC $26.99



Waterstones HC £24.99



Google Books ebook £22.91



B&N HC $27.99, N $14.99, AUDIOBOOK



Kobo ebook £15.99, audiobook £13.68



Amazon UK K £11.39, AUDIBLE 0.99, HC £22.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page