top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Saints of Swallow Hill by Donna Everhart (Tantor Audio) 4 Stars

Publication date UK format 25/1/22 audio time 12hrs 13 mins book 352 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


Where the Crawdads Sing meets The Four Winds as award-winning author Donna Everhart's latest novel immerses readers in its unique setting—the turpentine camps and pine forests of the American South during the Great Depression. This captivating story of friendship, survival, and three vagabonds' intersecting lives will stay with readers long after turning the final page. It takes courage to save yourself... In the dense pine forests of North Carolina, turpentiners labor, hacking into tree trunks to draw out the sticky sap that gives the Tar Heel State its nickname, and hauling the resin to stills to be refined. Among them is Rae Lynn Cobb and her husband, Warren, who run a small turpentine farm together. Though the work is hard and often dangerous, Rae Lynn, who spent her childhood in an orphanage, is thankful for it—and for her kind if careless husband. When Warren falls victim to his own negligence, Rae Lynn undertakes a desperate act of mercy. To keep herself from jail, she disguises herself as a man named "Ray" and heads to the only place she can think of that might offer anonymity—a turpentine camp in Georgia named Swallow Hill. Swallow Hill is no easy haven. The camp is isolated and squalid, and commissary owner Otis Riddle takes out his frustrations on his browbeaten wife, Cornelia. Although Rae Lynn works tirelessly, she becomes a target for Crow, the ever-watchful woods rider who checks each laborer’s tally. Delwood Reese, who’s come to Swallow Hill hoping for his own redemption, offers “Ray” a small measure of protection, and is determined to improve their conditions. As Rae Lynn forges a deeper friendship with both Del and Cornelia, she begins to envision a path out of the camp. But she will have to come to terms with her past, with all its pain and beauty, before she can open herself to a new life and seize the chance to begin again.


My Review


This was a wonderful story. I loved it from the very start. I listened to the audiobook and loved the narrator's voice. She really brought the book to life. I truly became that engrossed in the story I was upset when it ended. I just loved how cultural the book was, its a fantastic insight into how life used to be like. I actually felt like I was in the story myself living as they did. I really connected with the main character and easily became emotionally involved with her story. I find these stories even more wonderful as I don't live in the US but I just love learning about Americans history and cultures. This book gave me a real insight into what is was like during the great depression. I really recommend this book to all those who love to be immersed in the history and culture of the dep South. Also for those like me who really love a diverse range of historical history fiction books. I will definitely be looking for more books by this wonderful author.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating this stunning page turning, edge of your seat novel.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $8.78, AUDIBLE, PB $9.98



Waterstones PB £12.99



Google Books ebook £7.03



B&N PB $15.95 N $9.99



Kobo ebook £8.69, audiobook £17.97



Amazon UK K £7.03, AUDIBLE, PB £9.69


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page