top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Secrets of Bridgewater Bay by Julie Brooks (Headline) 4 Stars

Publication date UK format 23/6/22 book 396 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.





Synopsis


England, 1919: Rose and Ivy board a ship bound for Australia.


One is travelling there to marry a man she has never met.


One is destined never to arrive.


Australia, 2016: Amongst her late-grandmother's possessions, Molly uncovers a photograph of two girls dressed in First World War nurses' uniforms, labelled 'Rose and Ivy 1917', and a letter from her grandmother, asking her to find out what happened to her own mother, Rose, who disappeared in the 1960s.


Compelled to carry out her grandmother's last wish, Molly embarks on a journey to England to unravel the mystery of the two girls whose photograph promised they'd be 'together forever'...



My Review


This was an excellent book. I really enjoyed reading it. I loved how it was a dual timeline book that had some brilliant twists and turns that I wasn't expecting. The medium pace of this book really suited the relaxed feel of historical fiction. I thought it was brilliant that it was set in both rural England and Australia. I thought the characters development was brilliant especially with the rose and ivy. I really enjoyed despising Rose. I found myself really willing ivy on as I really got emotionally involved with the story.

As the book progress I found myself engrossed in the story and was really turning the pages faster and faster.

I couldn't predict the ending and it was rather shocking. I must say the final lines of this book made me wonder.

I recommend this book to all historical fiction fans who love dual timelines and story's that just keep you guessing. Also those who love characters who you love to hate.

So much praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating this wonderful roller coaster ride that certainly had me at the edge of my seat.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $4.99, AUDIBLE, HC $27.62, PB $15.99



Waterstones PB £9.99



Google Books ebook £5.49



B&N PB $15.99



Kobo ebook £5.49, audio 19.99



Amazon UK K £5.49, AUDIBLE, HC £14.53, PB £7.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.


HAPPY READING


58 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page