top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Serpent And The Dead by Anna Stephens (Aconyte) 5 stars

Publication date UK format 28/9/21 book 336 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis

In The Serpent and the Dead, Brunnhilde the Valkyrie, the fearsome Asgardian warrior entrusted with conveying worthy souls to the heroes’ afterlife, stalks a battlefield finding only empty husks. Yet the souls are not already in Valhalla, or the lesser afterworlds—they have vanished. She enlists the aid of the valiant Lady Sif, and together they scour Asgard for answers. Rumors abound of towns being attacked by a horde of soldiers who cannot be killed. Someone is building an immortal army and stealing Asgardian souls… A worthy challenge for two of Asgard’s mightiest champions! The Serpent and the Dead is the third prose novel in the LEGENDS OF ASGARD line, which is set in the legendary realm of Asgard and rich in Norse-inspired mythology, follows The Head of Mimir and The Sword of Surtur. These fantastical stories centering on Thor's daring companions celebrate heroism, adventure, fate, honor, and myth, bringing their stories to the fore. Raise a flagon of ale and enjoy tales of the extraordinary exploits of heroes and heroines from the Ten Realms.


My Review


This was a fantastic read. From the very start I just knew I was going to love it. It was such an thrilling story that I was right. As soon as sif appeared it was like yes finally a character I know lol. I just love these female power marvel stories and sif and her girlfriend certainly pack a punch. There is no messing with this pair of Asgardian warriors. This was a brilliant action packed story. I was so engrossed I lost tract of time and nearly forgot to make tea lol. It was so well wrote and flowed so well. I really got into this story and despite its fast pace I really kept track of everything. Which is sometimes difficult as I have ever read any comics and rubbish with remembering names especially if they are unusual like those Asgardian characters. I became emotionally invested in the characters and love the fact there were characters I loved to hate. I got over excited at one point and was shouting die die at looking and snake lol. Sad I know! I accidentally read the books out of order no wonder I didn't fully understand three swords. It actually makes more sense now. You can read this book as a standalone but this story does follow on into three swords. I really can't recommend this book and series enough. If you love marvel and Asgardians then this series is a perfect fit. I really feel like I am starting to know the Asgardians so much better now. It had a fantastic pace keeping the action coming, building up a wonderful sense of atmosphere and tension. There were plenty of unexpected twists and turns and some shocking events. You will definitely be in for a roller coaster ride if you read this book.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for creating such an amazing and so very interesting story that I couldn't put down. I will definitely looking for more books in this series and also other books this amazing author has wrote.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $9.95, PB $10.39



Waterstones PB £8.99



Google Books e £7.99



B&N PB $16.95, E $9.95



Kobo e £7.99



Amazon UK K £7.99, PB £7.84



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING


About Marvel Entertainment Marvel Entertainment, LLC, a wholly-owned subsidiary of The Walt Disney Company, is one of the world’s most prominent character-based entertainment companies, built on a proven library of more than 8,000 characters featured in a variety of media for over eighty years. Marvel utilizes its character franchises in entertainment, licensing, publishing, games, and digital media. For more information visit marvel.com. © 2022 MARVEL

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page