top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Wall by Antoine Charreyron & Mario Alberti (Diamond Distributions) 5 Stars

Publication date 21/12/21 Already out in the UK Book 164 Pages



I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to chose this book to read and review. This is the first comic in the series.






Synopsis

In a post-apocalyptic future, civilization is no more and humanity lives on looting and hacking, organizing itself into makeshift villages or caravans of roaring wrecks. In this brutal society, a young repairman named Solal does what he can to protect his sister Eva, who suffers from a respiratory illness. But when their medication runs out, they have only one hope: to go to the “Wall”, a gigantic impregnable enclosure guarded by monstrous robots. Inside that fabled shelter lives a community of powerful people with the resources to help them... but all is not as optimistic as it seems… Collecting the full dystopic trilogy created by film director Antoine Charreyron and artist Mario Alberti, THE WALL is a fast-paced survival story mixing elements of science fiction and horror in perfect blockbuster proportions. Brimming with the nihilism of Mad Max and The Walking Dead, this gripping drama plunges us into a maelstrom of dust, rust, and blood. A graphic feat for a wild and post-apocalyptic road movie that, in the purest tradition of the genre, questions the future of humanity and the consequences of our actions.

My Review

I thought this comic was brilliant. The pictures were fantastic with such great detail it really added to the atmosphere and tension. Im not really into fantasy and dystopia books but I am now if this is how good they are I just couldn't put this comic down until I had finished it. I was that engrossed in it I lost all track of time. I especially loved the adding of colour for dramatic effects and the sparseness of the colour fitted the book perfectly I loved the blue hair for the character that was to help save them. I got really excited by this story line it had me on the edge of my seat, quickly turning the pages trying to work out what would happen next. I loved how unexpected eden was. I thought it was very clever to see the contrast between the two places and the twists of the story. I found the comic very gripping and thoroughly enjoyed every second of it. It even scared me a little. I really recommend this comic to everyone who loves them busy with great attention to detail comics. Many thanks to the authors and publishing team for producing a wonderful edge of your seat and gripping comic for us all to enjoy.



Where you can buy this book

Amazon US Kindle $3.16 Hardcover $29.99

Waterstones Hardcover £26.99

Barnes & Nobles Hardcover $29.99

Amazon UK Kindle £2.39 Hardcover £22.66 (please note it has the kindle book down for 27 pages but the actual book is 164pp)

Prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you read so others can find these brilliant books.

HAPPY READING

4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page