top of page
  • Ladyreading365

The Woman Who Came Back to Life by Beth Miller (Bookouture) 4 Stars

Publication date 5/1/22 (uk date format) Audio time 10 hrs 2 mins Book 330 Pages


I would to like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick and read this book early for review. I am always honest with every book review I do.





Synopsis


I put down the diary, my hands trembling. Was he addressing me directly? There could be no other explanation. After decades of silence and hurt; a life spent wondering who and where my father was. Could it be that he had been thinking about me the whole time too? Pearl Flowers lives in a fairytale cottage in the woods in France. Her life is small, strict and safe. Every day is planned: Mondays she takes the middle path through the trees, on Wednesday the right and on Fridays, her special day, she takes the long way into the village. If she makes sure to follow her routine, she can avoid thinking about the past. But then an unexpected phone call throws everything into chaos: Francis, Pearl’s estranged father, has died and left her a bequest. One she can only claim if she agrees to come to his funeral and see the family she’s been hiding from for so long. But when Pearl begins to read Francis’s diaries, his last gift, she realizes that the truth about her father couldn’t be further from what she expected. That each page is addressed to her, the daughter he loved, causes her to question everything she thought she knew about her past. Now Pearl must face the world for the first time in many years. Her father was the only person who knew her deepest secret. Is she ready to finally confront the truth of what happened, and take a second chance at happiness now that it is finally within reach? This emotional and heartwarming novel is for anyone who knows it’s never too late to look for happiness. Fans of Matt Haig, Mike Gayle and Camille Pagán will fall in love with this feel-good and moving story.


My Review


I really liked this book. The storyline was amazing. I loved the fact there was so much controversy over the diaries. I loved the intricate details in the book of a family once broken apart and how years of issues had split them. Will they ever come together or find out the real reason why this happened? Well you will have to read this book as I'm not giving it away. I listened to the audiobook and loved the narrator she did a splendid job of creating the tension that flowed through the book. This characters were portrayed in a superb manner that allows me to create bonds with them or completely hate them with some wonderful twists. There were plenty of unexpected events and I enjoyed the ways they were dealt with. I found it very interesting seeing how the main character developed through the book. It was a really good page turner of which I flew through. I must say I loved the simplicity of the cover and its bright colours it fitted the story perfectly. Many thank to the author and publishers for creating this brilliant gripping page turner which im sure you will enjoy it.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US Kindle $2.72 Available on Audible Paperback $12.61



Waterstones Paperback £8.99




Google Books ebook £1.99



B&N Nook $1.99 Paperback $8.99



Kobo ebook £1.99



Amazon UK Kindle £1.99 Available on Audible Paperback £8.99




All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all the books you read. I have noticed and increase in reviews for fiction books with negative comments about there historical accuracies authors and publishers are always saying this is a work of fiction so it does not have to be accurate.


Happy Reading

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page